Beach Nights Have Begun!

IMG_5458b

Our summer tradition lives on…weekly beach nights have begun! This year we kicked off with my grandmother’s 96th birthday party on the sand. Food, folks, and fun…

IMG_5309

This boy has sure adjusted to the surf and sand that he used to hate so much.

IMG_5347

I just love that picture.

IMG_5315

This boy, on the other hand, has loved the beach from day one. There’s nothing like a little sand in the ears (and hair and face and nose) to let you know you’re really at the beach.

IMG_5467

He will con anyone he can into taking him into the water…even in the cooling after-dinner air. Uncle Rob’s always a sucker.

IMG_5380

The birthday girl…Jake gave her a card made from a whole posterboard…”She gets a really big card because she’s really old,” he told us.

hilts boys

The three “boys” then (1960)…

IMG_5321

…And now. (I wish for purposes of comparison that my dad were standing in the middle like he was in the old photo! I can totally see his same smileĀ [in the middle on the first photo, on the left in the second photo] almost 50 years ago.)

IMG_5350

Beautiful touches like flowers and new recipes make beach dinner seem extra special. I love my mom’s new food cover!

IMG_5372

IMG_5326

Summer, here we come!

17 thoughts on “Beach Nights Have Begun!

  1. I am not always a sucker… Only once in a while. Seriously, who can resist that face?!?!? And, I am sure there is at least one time where I have not given in… Not sure when that time was, but I am sure it is out there somewhere.

    Great pictures!

  2. Your family party looks a little like a photo shoot for Martha Stewart Living, except everything is REAL. What fun it was to just look – I’m sure being there was the real fun, of course. Ah, summer!

Leave a Reply

