Fresh Bread


Mmmmm….fresh bread has become the food of choice around here. ¬†After our first failed loaf, we have had many successful loaves, and I’ve come to crave/love that amazing smell of bread baking. It fills the whole house and hits you as you walk downstairs or in from picking up the mail. And to hear the boys cheer when I say “fresh bread” or smile when they hear the breadmaker, makes me happy. I didn’t realize that Greg hadn’t had any of our first loaves, and when he tasted a slice about a week or two after I started making it, he complained that we’d been hogging it all to ourselves without sharing! I guess I just didn’t notice (but it really is easy to hog.)

Today I’m trying a lot more whole wheat flour in the loaf because we ran out of bread flour after half a cup. (We usually do ¬†1.5 c. bread flour, 1.5 c. whole wheat flour.) I’ve wanted from the beginning to make a bread with more whole wheat flour, so we’ll see how this loaf works out. (I added some extra honey to balance out the flavor of more whole wheat.) I’ll keep you updated.
It’s really not very hard (with my dad’s borrowed breadmaker, that is) and nothing can beat that aroma on a cool day like today.
Here’s our usual recipe (I call it 1-2-3-4 bread):
1 c. hot water (I heat it in the microwave for 1:30)
1 T milk
2 T canola oil
3 T honey
4 T brown sugar (I just use a spoon and scoop about 4 scoops.)
1 t salt (I eyeball this)
1.5 c bread flour
1.5 c whole wheat flour
1 packet of yeast
I put the breadmaker on the white/light crust setting for a 1 lb. loaf.
This makes a light and sweet bread that’s perfect alone or with butter (or honey for dessert.) Yum!
Leave a Reply

