Cozy Thoughts about Quilting

I am so very lucky that I learned how to sew when I was just a little girl.  I think I probably started when I was 8 or 9. By age 11, my mom was giving quilting classes out of our bonus room, and even taught one for girls my age. I think I finished my first quilt, a four square sampler, around that time.
Now, I think I could just swim in fabric, I love it that much. The colors, the patterns, the feel of it, and even the smell. I love it. The problem with this love is that I just want to buy more and more gorgeous fabric, even just to put it on the shelves in my newly cleaned sewing room. Ahhhh.
I have recently vowed not to buy any more blankets, throws, comforter covers, etc. from Target or Ikea, two of my favorite stores in the world.  Yes, they have the most adorable things at dirt cheap prices. But if I make it, it just means so much more. If I make it, I treasure it. Have you tried making anything lately? I will warn you, it’s so addicting.
I am in the process of making a throw quilt for the family room to coordinate with the new decor. I will be sure to share it with you when it’s done. I need to finish it soon, because a new quilt on the cover of a magazine caught my eye, and I have it in mind for some of the fabrics I picked up at the Material Possessions anniversary sale. I can’t wait to start it, but one thing/quilt at a time, I remind myself. That is the hardest part.
Leave a Reply

