Rhythm of a Day

I’m trying hard to remember that every day seems to have its rhythm around here. 

Typically we start with a generally happy Tyler, and crying and tantrums from Jake during breakfast time, sometimes ending in him being sent to his room to preserve the peace at the breakfast table. Then we all wave bye-bye to Daddy and blow our hugs and kisses and shoot some I love you’s his way as he drives away. 
Once he’s gone, things settle down and the boys play while I clean up from breakfast and start some laundry. Then we’ll play a game or read some books before getting dressed for the day. We go upstairs or outside to play (snail hunt today) then come home for a snack. At snack time the boys usually start whining again, and I have to think of something to occupy them if I want to get any chores done (often I do not.) More of the three of us playing together then it’s lunch time, at which point Jake starts throwing a fit about how hungry he is and how he needs lunch right this instant. They both cry until lunch is on the table, then we eat together. 
After lunch they’ll usually play for a bit while I clean up, then if they’re getting tired of playing, they get to watch a 20 minute show on pbs before rest time (if I’m lucky, they don’t need a show to wind down and I can save this for later in the day when I’m desperate!) Next is quiet time in their rooms (on a good day, 45 minutes) then more play time at home before they get cranky again around 5:00. That’s the hour and a half where I have to entertain them, clean up from our day, and get dinner cooked for us all, without losing my mind. 
But as soon as Daddy gets home (around 6:30) everyone’s happy again. We eat dinner together then Daddy does the dinner dishes and then usually watches t.v. while the boys play near him and I try to get a moment to relax. Around 7:45 we start getting ready for brushing teeth, book, and bed. Then Greg and I can watch whatever show we have on our DVR or read or craft or whatever we’re doing that night.
The most important thing to me is that I need to remember this rhythm when the boys are driving me crazy with their crying, whining, and generally crankiness. I need to remember that they aren’t like that all day long. I need to remember that there are pockets of frustration every day and that, with two preschoolers, I should expect them and take them in stride as part of the rhythm of our day. I need to learn to expect them at their usual times, and weather them the best I can, knowing there are better moments coming soon.
The rhythm of a day. What’s it like in your family?
Leave a Reply

