A New Old-Fashioned Way

Img_9599

I took this picture of a flamingo feeding her little one at the San Diego Zoo last week…I wish we could all latch onto that innate ability to nurture the ones around us each day. Remember that song, ‘Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree’ where everyone’s dancing merrily in a new old-fashioned way? I couldn’t get that line out of my head today, and I realized just now why…it fits.

The life I’m striving for is a new old-fashioned life. I live in the crowded suburbs, my husband insists on five million cable channels and a dvr, I’m typing on my Mac and the air-conditioning has been on for most of the day. We have two cars and almost no yard. That’s the “new” part of it. But every day I’m working to recapture the “old-fashioned” way of life, which is really what cozy living is all about to me.

Old-fashioned life: take the family time, the reading, the singing, the bonding, the living off the land. Leave the whole days slaving over laundry and hauling water from the well and having no doctor nearby.
Modern day life: take the microwave, the washer, dryer, and dishwasher, the caller i.d. to screen my calls. Leave the hours of meaningless television and video games, the rushing from place to place and only having time for fast food.

The new old-fashioned way is what I want. A life where I use only as much technology as I need to save time for more important things, like living life with the ones I love. I love that thought! Taking the best of both worlds and leaving the rest.

5 thoughts on “A New Old-Fashioned Way

  1. Linn you are a great writer. I think you capture how I feel too. I wish we could go back in time. I’m hoping I can find my “new-old fashioned” in down town san diego.

  2. I’m sure you’ll be able to find a new old-fashioned life in San Diego, Amy. I’m learning that downtown, suburbs, farmland, can all be the same if your approach to life is old-fashioned. Can’t wait to help you settle in.

Leave a Reply

