The Creative Photography Retreat

Cpr pics 

Photography by Linn Woodard, Dawnette El Fattal, Rebecca Harper, Phyllis Carter 

Well, I've got a moment to write about the amazing three day photography seminar I attended last weekend in San Jose, and I am still in awe of the information, the talent, the expertise, and the excitement that was there.  We spent two days in eight different classes teaching us about storytelling, photo editing, general camera knowledge, use of flash, photoshop, photography of children, use of natural light, and still life photography.  Class after class I wrote page after page of notes and tips. I sat in front in every class and asked as many questions as I could, in order to glean as much knowledge as possible from the pros in their fields.  It wasn't until halfway through class #7 that I suddenly felt completely saturated with knowledge, as if one more drop of information would make the whole sponge that is my brain completely overflow.  Luckily my eighth class was about Photoshop, and as I've been working in Photoshop for many years now, I didn't feel overwhelmed there.  (and even in that class I took away two very useful tips that are new to me, but will be used often.)  So yes, time and money very well spent.  I feel like I could spend years reviewing and putting into practice all of the information from the retreat.  Doesn't it feel good to LEARN?  It's been a while for me.  I think learning makes me come alive.  I'm determined to do it more often.

Another little tidbit…there was a little photo scavenger hunt, so my group and I traipsed all over the hotel grounds and across the street to a little business complex, where we took pictures of anything and everything, hoping to be as artistic as we could be.  And you know how it is, you think your photos are great and you hope that you might win something in the three categories, but you know that there are over 250 other capable photographers at this event, so you don't get your hopes up.  Well, our group got second place in the creativity category, and we were pretty pleased.  And then, they announced an overall winners category, and, drum roll, WE WON!  Can you imagine?  Out of all of those photographers, our group was the overall winner.  I don't think I've been that shocked in a long, long time.  Since they'd already called our group once, we figured we were done, and when our slide came up on the screen, we screamed in complete shock. I was just so honored and amazed to be recognized by the instructors in an area that I just love so much.  Wow.

But most of all, I'm so excited to start using all of the information I've learned as I take pictures in the coming weeks and months.  What a great few days.  I love great learning experiences, don't you?

The boys and I are off to Disneyland today, as we have annual passes and the place should be empty today since it's the first day of school for the remaining districts in our area.  I'm packing every bit of fun I can into this last non-school year for my boys!  Hope your day is happy, too.
3 thoughts on “The Creative Photography Retreat

  1. I hope you guys had a great time in Disneyland! The photo retreat sounds like it was so much fun. I completely understand the feeling of brain saturation…that is why I am blogging right now and not preparing a presentation on cleft palates 🙂 I can’t wait to see what photo goodness you come up with after the retreat…perhaps you could share a couple of your favorite new tips, I am such an amateur when it comes to photography! And thanks for your kind words about the third year of teaching…I have a feeling its going to be a really great year.

  2. I would love to go on something like this. I feel so amateur at photography and yet I want to learn so much. I don’t know if I have the patience but maybe one day.

Leave a Reply

