Remembering…

IMG_8518

The boys and I colored this American flag with sidewalk chalk on our driveway for the fourth of July this year.  Now, two months later, there are still faint remnants of our flag spotting the sidewalk…a smudge of blue here, a scribbled star there.  We've spent day after day driving, riding, and generally living life on top of it, until it's pretty much unrecognizable.  It seems that our memories of September 11th, 2001 are slowly fading, too.  Slowly seeming less significant.  Slowly losing their weight in our minds and our lives.  Every day brings with it more excitement, more troubles, more joy, more pain, more busy-ness, more emotions, more to-do's, until thoughts that used to be life-changing are buried so far below the surface that they're not even rendered important to our days anymore.  I am determined to remember.

There are two odd things that I recall most clearly from that day: Those horrible little arrows shown over and over on the news, representing planes making unscheduled u-turns in the sky, and that moment of silence and tears with my class of 30 eleven-year-olds, knowing that I was the only one in the room who could even begin to grasp the enormity of this tragedy.   

My life isn't even close to the same these days.  I spend my days thinking about two little others instead of myself.  There are things to be done, memories to be made, people to be loved. So today I will simply pray that you will find comfort in your grieving, whether for one person or for a country's lost innocence.  And I pray that the images in my mind from that day seven years ago will never fade away like a chalk drawing on a driveway.
4 thoughts on “Remembering…

  1. Isn’t it amazing what we remember about that day? I remember being in chemistry, wondering if I was really dreaming. That flag on the sidewalk is lovely…I can’t believe there are bits of it still around!

  2. I’ve spent much of today sad. Not just sad for what we all lost that day, but also sad because I don’t quite understand how the pain has faded so. When it happened, we knew our world would never be the same, but could we have anticipated that one day, maybe even seven short years later, we might be all right? That we might be able to pack lunches, do laundry, feel frustrated or interested or anything other than devastated? It’s a confusing moment. That life has gone on. But it is a blessing I’m thankful for.

    I’m happy to have stopped in here tonight. Your post is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

