Whole Wheat Zucchini Banana Bread

IMG_3549

We got several zucchini in our CSA basket this week, and although we have been doing all of our produce shopping at the farmer's market or through our CSA, we did pick up some bananas at Trader Joe's earlier this week.  It amazes me sometimes to think back to a year ago and what we were used to eating, as compared to today, when buying a banana at the store is, as I told the boys, "a special treat," and they agreed.  I wish someone at the farmer's market would start growing bananas…but for now, we'll enjoy this delicious recipe with our precious bananas and some of our farm's zucchini overload of the summer.

If it weren't for the sugar and chocolate chips, this could be considered a healthy-ish recipe, but as we made it, it's really a dessert bread.  And I even think I might cut the sugar or syrup a bit more next time, it is so sweet.  But just think, a dessert that tastes delicious (huge hit with our family) and is oh-so-much healthier than the white floury Nestle' cookies that I would have made last year if we were up for a treat.  Out of curiosity, I compared the nutritional info of a mini loaf of this bread to that of two homemade Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip cookies, and this bread has almost 25% fewer calories, 75% less fat, more than 3 times the fiber, and of course, tons more of every type of vitamin and mineral.  And it's still super sweet to satisfy an incurable sweet tooth like mine.  What's not to like?

Linn's Whole Wheat Zucchini Banana Bread

2 eggs, beaten
1 c. unsweetened applesauce
2 t. vanilla
1 c. sugar
1/4 c. maple syrup (I'm sure you could adjust the sugar and leave this out if you don't have any.)
2 c. grated zucchini (this was about 1 medium zucchini for me)
1 1/2 bananas, very ripe and mashed
3 c. whole wheat flour
1 t. baking powder
3/4 t. baking soda
1 t. cinnamon
3/4 t. salt
1/2 c. chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix the eggs, vanilla, sugar, syrup, zucchini, and bananas well.  
Add the remaining ingredients and beat or stir until well blended.  
Pour into greased pans (I made 11 mini loaves @ 30 min. in the over per batch, I think it would be about two bigger loaf pans full which would probably need to cook for 45+ minutes.  I'm sure they'd be great as muffins, too!  Just check occasionally with a toothpick.  When it comes out dry, it's ready to come out.)
Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then on a wire rack.

If it's anything like regular banana bread, it will probably taste even better tomorrow if I wrap it up in cellophane overnight, but I just made up the recipe today and wanted to share right away, so the overnight factor remains to be seen!

Enjoy.
5 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Zucchini Banana Bread

  1. i had NO idea chocolate chips were part of the recipe for zucchini bread! huh. that’s so interesting. guess you need those delicious little guys to balance out the icky zucchinis 😉 just kidding!

  2. Yummy! My mouth is watering… 3X the fiber sounds great! My daughter needs all the fiber she can get.

    I sent you an email through blogger. Will you let me know if you get it? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

