And We’re Off…

Boys yosemite bw
(photo from our September 2006 Yosemite trip)

We won't be around for a week and a half…we're off to one of the most beautiful places in the world: Yosemite!  I love the fields of grasses, the vistas of blue rock, the crisp fall air, just about everything about it makes me happy.  Some of my favorite memories in high school are from our church's annual youth trip to Yosemite, where we would spend several hours alone in silence in the nature around us, reflecting on creation.  We're now taking advantage of our last year without anyone in elementary school by heading out for a nice fall trip up north. (as much as I love it, Yosemite is a crowded mess in the summertime.)

We'll be in nearby Bass Lake for some of the week, camping in the park for part of the week (aaahhhh…I love cooking over the campfire), then we head over to San Francisco for the weekend, where Greg has a work event and the boys and I will toodle around on our own for a few days.

I am so looking forward to spending my days in pure beauty with my family.  And I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this time my dear husband will be enjoying it all with us, instead of writhing in the little country hospital passing a kidney stone for five days…oh yes, our last trip was quite idyllic…ahem.  Keep your fingers crossed for us!  If you're looking for some new tidbits from our house, check out the archives.  I didn't actually tell anyone about this blog until I'd been writing for a few months, so those early posts have never really seen the light of day.  It's definitely an encouragement to me to see the improvement in my writing and photography in the months past.  I'm excited to share our photos and stories with you all when  we get back.
6 thoughts on “And We’re Off…

Leave a Reply

