I Just Couldn’t Stay Away.

 

img_6410_2

Did you really think I could keep myself away from the blogging world for very long? I thought I could. I figured I’d be gone for at least a year, breaking my (albeit mild) internet addiction and making time for more tangible pursuits. But the truth is, I just love writing. I love reflecting. Reminiscing. Rambling. Ruminating. I pretty much like to tumble words around in my head and put them down on the screen. And it’s refreshing for a mom of two preschoolers to use that thing God gave me…you know, the space between my two ears that has become sorely neglected in the last four and a half years? Maybe I will try out wordpress for awhile and see how it goes.

I’d like to spend a little more time reflecting on the spiritual things I’m learning, and my old Cozy Living was just not the right venue for that. In my opinion, God doesn’t only give spiritual experiences in the form of reading the Bible, but also through lessons we learn from all sources, including non-Christian writings and the physical world around us. Perhaps I can balance some photos, some everyday thoughts, and some musings on what I’m reading and learning here in this new spot at PeaceLiving.

I chose to call this space PeaceLiving because, for me, the most important part of learning is actually living it out. I do so love browsing the pages of Martha Stewart Living, Cottage Living, Coastal Living, and Country Living, with the best intentions of bringing some of that beaty into my own life, so why not PeaceLiving? I’d like to become one of those people who exudes peace. I’d like to break the habit of always bragging about how busy I am and learn the spiritual discipline of being peaceful. I’m currently beginning to write a book about peace. More specifically, every once in awhile I manage to read and research and jot a bit about it down, hoping that when Tyler goes to preschool this fall I might be able to compile my jumbled journal entries and jotted notes into something comprehensible to someone other than just myself. 

When I realized that God was calling me to do some serious writing, I wondered for a while what I really had to write about. As I thought, prayed, and looked through my journals of the past several years, I realized the lessons I’m learning have been focused on finding peace in the midst of chaos. I prefer to physically write in a journal in a cozy chair instead of typing on the computer (although that would be much faster!) so I’m writing things down as I learn about peace, and I plan on tearing out various pages of my journals to type when the right time comes. Until that day comes, I’m just trying to be a bit more mindful of grabbing onto the peace that passes understanding instead of floundering around in the craziness around me. I’m thinking that my word for 2009 might be peace. Not sure about that yet.

So welcome to my new space. It might take a while to find the voice that’s comfortable for me here, but I’d like to give it a try. I hope to share books that make me think, ideas that make me wonder, crafts that bring me joy, and share a life that is pursuing peace. Enjoy.

In nothing be anxious; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passes all understanding, shall guard your hearts and your thoughts in Christ Jesus. Phillipians 4:6-7

2 thoughts on “I Just Couldn’t Stay Away.

Leave a Reply

