Creativity Happens Here…I Hope.

img_1010

My studio was getting to the point where I was afraid that it might become self-aware and begin enlisting other rooms in my house to join it in its quest to drown us in ‘stuff.’ It makes me hyperventilate just thinking about the state it was in. But today I can sit here, breathe in the beauty and actually begin to create here again. For several months I simply could not handle the mess, so I just avoided the space altogether.

img_1006

I like to have my supplies out in the open where I remember that I have them and to use them. This spot for scrapbooking and stamping and any other paper crafts I can think of. My computer, printer, and filing stuff sits just to the right of this picture. There are three plastic drawer storage units underneath the piece of my desk that sticks out into the room. In one I keep scraps of cardstock sorted by color family (I use these scraps so much that I forget to use whole sheets most of the time!) and my 8.5 x 11 white and neutral cardstock. In the other two are the stamps that I use the most. The other stamps are stored in white cardboard boxes from Ikea, labeled by category. I have three portable plastic vertical files with handles in which I store my textured 12 x 12 cardstock, my patterned paper, and my patterned paper scraps. I also have two huge baskets that hold my other 12 x 12 cardstock sorted by color across my studio on a bookshelf. I love my studio now that it’s painted light blue instead of the old red, which made me feel hurried.

img_1009

I am adopting Zenhabits.com decluttering idea: empty the space, keep what you love and get rid of the rest. Those of you who aren’t crafty may look at this space and wonder how this could possibly be just the very, very, very best essentials. But those of you who scrapbook or craft can relate, I hope. I am proud to say that all of my scrapbooking embellishments now rest in just this one little corner of my studio. I’m trying so hard to purge diligently. There was quite a large box of craft stuff to go to charity. It feels so good knowing that what’s left I really do love. The black file drawers help me organize my photos according to four categories according to Stacy Julian’s Library of Memories, a wonderful organization system for scrapbooking.

img_1007

I am so excited to finally have an inspiration board (in the first picture), made up of two magnetic boards from Ikea that I covered with some fabric I’ve had for a while. And although these rails for storing punches aren’t new, I still love them. (Also from Ikea, in the kitchen section.) I have a wonderful home for my three lovely Tollipop ladies from Kirsten’s 100 dresses set that she is drawing, along with a small set of Venetian masks I’ve collected or made through the years.

img_1012

And I think my favorite area is this one, with perhaps my favorite mask and for sure my favorite little Tollipop girl who reminds me of when I lived in Krakow, Poland for a few months.

img_1013

Below you’ll find some more views of my storage, my albums, and the boys’ art studio. I also have my most recent completed albums in my family room and our breakfast nook. Tomorrow I have the day off, as the boys are going to Grandma’s to play all day. Oh, the things I might create here…

10 thoughts on “Creativity Happens Here…I Hope.

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and sharing your kitty story. I definitely never dreamed I’d be writing about a cat when I started my blog. 🙂

    You look like an incredibly creative person…I’d love to come and bask in your studio. It is divine.

    Blessings,
    Sandy

  2. Hello!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

    What a beautiful studio! I LOVE the blue color!

    I really need to get organized myself – it really does spur on some good creativity! Thanks for the encouragement!

    Have a wonderful day!

    Blessings,
    Kate 🙂

  3. Hi,
    I landed on your blog from a comment you left on Luanne’s. I am a stamper and your pictures make me want to tidy up my craft room. Happy crafting!
    Debbie

  4. You sure have a nice studio! I do not have one and it is really frustrating to move everything crafty from kitchens table, when family wants to eat. How I wish I could just leave all there, in my own little cosy work space.

  5. What a lovely work space! I love to be organized and see all my things neatly displayed. However, my crafting area, is not so lovely. Again, just really struck by the way in which you mixed things together that make you happy and inspire!

Leave a Reply

