Winter Weekend

img_1088

It’s one of those wonderful slightly rainy days, when cozying up with a good book in front of the fire with a cup of hot tea is just the right thing to do. My energy is flagging and the boys are cranky, as we’re all recovering from a long week and a tiring cold. Tyler is dozing and Jake is having his quiet time as I do the last things needing done before succumbing to the comfort of a winter weekend.

Ingredients for our winter weekend are as follows:  an asian soup, simmering as we speak in the crock pot and filling the house with the aroma of coconut, mushrooms, and lime. I’m trying hard to find the perfect soup that will please all four of us and will provide a good home for our CSA basket greens.

img_1106

Combine with the soup the scent of fresh bread, I think perhaps the best smell in the world. This time I baked with some buckwheat flour making it a bit heartier and reminding me of the bakeries I loved in snowy Germany. I’m loving this versatile recipe that I’ve created and manipulated time and again in the past months. It’s full of healthy things, yet tasty enough that we all grab for it with butter and jam or with meat and cheese. 

Whole Grain Oatmeal Bread

  • 1 c. warm water
  • 2 T milk
  • 2 T oil
  • 6 T sweetener (I’ve used sugar, honey, molasses, xylitol, and my favorite right now, agave nectar.)
  • 1 t salt
  • 2 c. whole wheat flour (this is where I mix in whatever grainy thing I’d like to try out…today was 1.25 c. whole wheat flour, .75 c. buckwheat flour)
  • 1/2 c. bread flour
  • 1 c. multigrain oatmeal (I use Trader Joe’s brand that we all love and have on hand for everyday anyway. It has organic rolled rye, barley, oats and wheat. Today I used a handful of flax seeds as part of this cup)
  • 2 T wheat germ (because I’m always looking for a way to sneak a bit more ‘health’ into our healthy bread)
  • 3 T vital wheat gluten (from what I hear, this is the key to getting a lighter texture in a heavy whole grain bread.)
  • 1 package of yeast

img_1111

I picked up some new parenting books at the library last night, and if I’m lucky Greg will come home just a bit early tonight so that I can pamper myself with a hot bath. I also brought home some daffodils today because I love the sight of the cheery blooms against a rainy window.

img_1102

Tonight our “adopted” college daughter will come over to watch an old chick flick, as Greg and I are catching her up on the best ones of our generation. Maybe “While You Were Sleeping” tonight? Our personal favorite is “Notting Hill,” and last week we watched “Sabrina.”  Mostly there will be a lot of staying in this weekend, tucked under a quilt on the couch, lazing about. What about you? How does your winter weekend look?

6 thoughts on “Winter Weekend

  1. I’ve been itching to bake some bread…I have a bunch of recipes sitting right here next to me. My goal this year is to make a perfect loaf of bread…I haven’t quite gotten one yet. But, eh, it’s all about the process.

  2. i love the bird picture . . . . very beautiful

    i have bread baking right now . . .

    it is sunny here – but about 20 below – so we are inside. we’ve been playing games – memory and some jumping monkey game isaac got for his birthday. now kiddos are napping, ben is resting, and i’m going to sew!

  3. Lovely post. It makes me feel calm and cozy, which is just what I need right now. Thank you so much for sharing.

    I would love to make that bread. And I would love that soup recipe. It sounds yummy. Would you mind sharing that too?

    Thanks. Again, lovely post. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

