A Hailstorm, T.V. Hatred & the Best Bread Ever.

img_1692

img_1691

img_1687

Last week we had a hailstorm unlike any I’ve ever seen here! Of course, it’s into the low 70’s again this week, just where we like it, but the hail was so cool, and the boys barely batted an eye because they were watching T.V. on the couch because Jake was sick. This, in a nutshell, is what I hate about T.V. No matter what else is happening in the world, the T.V. beats all. Think of how many wonderful experiences so many children are missing out on these days as they lay around watching T.V. What a pity.

But I digress. What I really mean to do is apologize: I’m so very terrible about answering the questions people leave me here in the comments. I do read and enjoy each and every comment and I love to visit the blogs of those of you who visit, but I just can’t seem to get myself to email you answers when you ask them! I’m sorry…I’ll try harder. For now, here are a few answers for everyone.

1. The icing I use for my valentine and snowflake cookies is a standard royal icing recipe which, when thick, makes nice crisp lines, and when thinner can flood the area I want to fill (like the pink on the hearts) and hardens glossy on the top but still tastes soft when you bite into it. There’s a good recipe with tips here.

2. I did paint the jungle/safari mural in the nursery myself. I used to paint years ago, and thought it would make a lovely spot for a baby. I painted it while on my school teaching break when I was about 7 months pregnant with Jake, and it will never be painted over while we live here! It was a three week long labor of love!

3. C.S.A. (Community Supported Agriculture): Today we picked up our last CSA basket, as I decided not to renew for next quarter. I love the idea of supporting our local organic farm, but have decided to do so via the farmer’s market, where I can choose more freely the types of produce my family will use. I hate seeing wonderful vegetables go to waste when we just can’t keep up with our farm basket’s production. We’re still eating seasonally and I love it. It makes our fruits and veggies more exciting when they’re only available for a short time and then something new takes their places. Maybe we’ll reconsider the CSA in the summer quarter when the farm offerings seem to match up better with what our family eats.

4. The soup I mentioned a few weeks ago turned out good, I thought, although I would have liked to use even more of our greens in it. My aunt suggested that I only use one dark leafy green vegetable because the darker the color, the more strong (and sometimes bitter) the flavor. I’m not a soup expert, but I made mine with a Thai sort of flair, with broth, coconut milk, lime juice, and whatever vegetables I had on hand. I kept tasting and adding a bit of this and that until it tasted good to me. I’m enjoying trying soup these days and made a vegetable soup with a can of pureed butternut squash in it a few weeks ago, and potato leek last night. We all liked it. If any experiments come out well, I’ll post a recipe!

5. I recently loaded onto this blog the posts from my old blog, CozyLiving. If you never had a chance to look around there, check it out now that it’s here! Someday I’ll get all the categories synched up so you can browse by category again. Someday.

6. Last but not least, I have the very best whole wheat bread recipe ever.  This loaf is eaten up within the day…it is that good, AND it is made with things that we always have on hand here…very convenient. I combined and adapted several different recipes to come up with it. Enjoy!

 

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Yogurt Bread

2 t yeast

1.75 c whole wheat flour

.5 c quick oats (we use Trader Joe’s Multigrain Oatmeal…sometimes we add flax seeds in here)

.5 c bread flour

.25 c vital wheat gluten (to make it fluffier)

3 T sweetener (sugar, agave nectar, honey, whatever you like)

1 c plain yogurt (I used unsweetened applesauce once in a pinch…came out a bit mushier inside but still good.)

2 T butter

.75 c warm water

.5 t salt

2 thoughts on “A Hailstorm, T.V. Hatred & the Best Bread Ever.

  1. the hail looks so beautiful all around the green . . . i hope it wasn’t damaging.

    we do some tv here, but it must be well balanced with reading and learning and coloring and playing – inside and out.

    and homemade bread is THE BEST!

Leave a Reply

