Nurtured.

img_2627

During the past few weeks I have been in need of some serious nurturing.  It has been a time when I have been completely unable to give, only able to receive from others.  Thankfully, God makes up for what I lack and gives me the strength and patience to continue in my role of mama, but outside of that I have truly been on the receiving end of the gift of being a part of the body of Christ.  It is such a meaningful thing to recognize how God has put his plan in place to nurture us all through each other and through His creation. These weeks have been full of phone calls during which my mom and my sister did nothing but listen to me and offer up prayer for our church, which is seriously struggling right now. My sister Amy hosted us last week for a two day getaway, and in our room she welcomed us with the cheery daisies shown above. It has been a few weeks of fervent and constant prayer.  “Those of steadfast mind you keep in peace—because they trust in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for in the Lord God you have an everlasting rock.” (Isaiah 26: 3-4)   I am reminded, too, that we cannot be concerned with how others will respond, but we need to seek God’s guidance above all others in tough times.  “Fear of others will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe.” (Proverbs 29:25) 

img_2640

And what would a week of being nurtured be without a sunshiny day to enjoy the world from a blanket on the grass, watching the boys play in the drinking fountain at the park as I write in my journal?  What would a week of nurturing be without a loaf of my favorite bread, still steaming and freshly baked?

img_2636

I am thankful in troubled times for God’s perfect promises.

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13)

7 thoughts on “Nurtured.

  1. What a comforting post! I love your photographs, beautiful! I wanted to thank you for the nice comment about my menus… In January I decided that one of my goals for the new year was to cook a hot breakfast every morning. It has been really nice and the kids appreciate it so much! We homeschool and I have to cook three times a day. We almost never go out to eat! So, food is a comforting tradition.

  2. Linn, what a lovely post to ponder upon. Your words are so inspiring to me. Hope this day brought you total refreshment and self-nurturing. The flowers, the bread and God’s word brightened my day….thank you, sweet lady!

  3. Since recently coming upon your blog I am so encouraged by your simple and lovely delight in the days of both joy and challenge. Thank you for your candid comments & simply connecting truths. I hope you enjoyed the grass in between your toes!

Leave a Reply

