Beading Again.

img_3892

My aunt Krissy is a part of the Bead Society of Orange County. You say you didn’t know there was such a thing? Well, it’s quite a big deal. My cousin Becky and I visited their annual “Art of Adornment” festival at a local museum this weekend, and let me just say that there are a lot of people who are crazy about beads. I was hesitant to take many pictures of the beaded artwork, but there are so many styles and types of beadwork that it is amazing. Becky and I each came home with some lovely treasures. I bought two silver pendants which you’ll see below (faraway friends, take a peek to see my current hair color) along with a variety of beads to make a necklace. This is dangerous for me. I tend to buy beads in a fit of passion and then let them languish in a craft cupboard, forgotten and lonely. I recently gave a whole bag of beads to Aunt Krissy, knowing that I probably would not ever take the time to create something with them, and that if I did, I’d probably want to find new beads to do it with, not use beads I bought for something else that never materialized several years ago. And now, I have my new beads as you see above. I have no plan, but I couldn’t resist them. Time to start searching for inspiration. If you have a favorite jewelry artist, link me up so I can find some ideas. When I make something I’ll be sure to share it. 

img_3888

img_3898

img_3889bw

img_3887b

5 thoughts on “Beading Again.

  1. love the green leaves, the blue, and the tiny orangey-brown ones.

    i’m interested to see what you make with them!

    and what a lovely way to spend a day with your cousin.

  2. Oooh, lovely earthtones… The blue ones would suit the top you’re wearing showing your new pendant! And the buying-not creating(yet) thing has brought me an attic stuffed with tons of beads…. But I love them anyways.

Leave a Reply

