New Life.

It has been a long few months. Yesterday was our last service at our beloved church…a place we’ve learned in, labored with, lived alongside others, and loved. It is simply so sad to leave. I couldn’t even bring myself to go into the service for fear of completely losing it (as I already had with a few of the people I was saying goodbye to) so I sat in the car reading, feeling the drumbeats of worship reverberate dimly across the parking lot. The whole day was spent on the verge of tears. The problem is, even when you know in your heart after months (years?) of prayer and thought that something is the right thing to do, it doesn’t make it any easier. We are not church hoppers. We have been committed with our lives and our hearts, and just because God has made it clearer and clearer month after month that our church can no longer be our home doesn’t mean we’re happy to obey Him. I am so thankful for a God who has proven time and again in my life and in others throughout history that He has a beautiful plan for all of us. His ways are above ours. His plans are perfect even when they don’t look that way from down here. It feels like we’re leaving an old life and beginning a new life. We are apprehensive, guarded, eager, worried, yet confident in the Lord of all creation to bring us to the place He wants us. 

Speaking of new life, we have several new lives in our circle of friends these days. If there’s anything that will bring up low spirits, it is a beautiful newborn (or two!)

img_4143b

img_4053b

img_2412b

img_2354b

3 thoughts on “New Life.

  1. You don’t know how much I needed to read this today. We are in the middle of making that same realization, and it is SO hard. But in my case I simply can not walk into that building and worship God anymore- I am too broken over recent hurts and recent events, and my husband finally told me that I am not allowed to subject myself to that hurt anymore, for the sake of others in the church, and that it is probably time to move on.

    I’ll keep your words in mind, if anything as affirmation that it is perfectly normal to feel such heartbreak over a break that needs to happen for the good of my soul. I don’t want to leave my friends, and the place where we were literally introduced to God’s truth and love and power. But I also know if we stay, we will become more and more hardened because of people, which is not as it should be.

    This struggle is not something I write about as a lot of people who read my blog go to my church, but I wanted to drop a line and let you know how much your words moved me today.

    Blessings,
    Lindsey

  2. what sweet babies!

    about the church move . . . just over a year ago, we moved from the church that had been our home for many years. over the course of a year, many things had changed there. down to the fundamental truths being preached. my husband and i had asked many questions, tried to understand. went to the Bible and brought the Bible to the church leadership. and it just became apparent that if we stayed we were going to become bitter and cause division. neither would be the right thing to do. so, we had a very few parting conversations with our pastor and some of our dearest friends. and we quietly left.

    after we left, we took some time – with my brother and his family – and just met together on sunday mornings and sang and prayed and did a kid story for our kiddos and shared an adult devotion together. we did that for about 2 1/2 months. in that time period, we learned about other churches in our community. we found the little tiny church that we are now a part of and started attending there at the end of last summer. it has been so good. and there have been many confirmations of why we belong where we are now.

    God is good.
    even when circumstances are hard.
    God is good.

  3. As someone who will be leaving her church very soon, I was thankful to read of your experience. Not thankful that it is a painful experience, but thankful that you can be sure that God is good and your faith in Him hasn’t wavered during this transitional time. Lately my scripture has been “Hope deferred makes the heart sick” and it was uplifting to be reminded that God has a wonderful plan and I can trust Him. Thank you for sharing and I will be interested to hear how He resolves this situation for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

