Spring Camera Bags

DSC06628

DSC06631

Folks around here must know me as the woman who perpetually carries a huge bag…but I can’t help it! I find it imperative to have my big SLR camera with me at all times. But instead of carrying an ugly touristy black camera bag, I designed and perfected my own cute camera bag last year. It holds my essentials: camera, extra lens, battery, lens cleaners, wallet, Purell, Tyler’s EpiPen, chapstick, sunglasses, and pockets on each side for my cell phone and my keys. Perfect! And this year I’ve finally finished two new bags to carry me through the spring and summer months. Aren’t they lovely?

DSC06629

I did make several to sell last year. In fact, the idea was that I would design these and then sell lots of them and become rich (well, not really.) But herein surfaces another flaw of my character: once I met the challenge of actually designing the bag after several months and prototypes, I felt ready to move on. I’m not much for sitting and sewing for hours on end, even if the end result is so pretty and will make someone else happy. I guess I’m more of the problem-solving, beginning sort, and less of the hammer-it-out and finish the job sort. I do have this green one ready to sell if I ever finish the buckle on the front. And I do have several more cut and ready to sew when I feel the urge to sew for profit for a few hours. Who knows when that day will come! (Let me know if you’re dying for one of these and are the patient sort…I sell them for $85 plus $10 shipping US.) For the moment, my etsy shop sits empty. But that’s okay with me because I’m off to the beach for the day and have a date this afternoon to finish a little sundress for my niece’s birthday this Saturday. Have a wonderful Thursday!

DSC06630

13 thoughts on “Spring Camera Bags

  1. These are so lovely; is that Amy Butler fabric? I love the one with the bird! What a great way to carry all the really important stuff ;). Have you considered selling the pattern or a kit?

    • My first thought is, yes! What a great idea! Then my second thought is, I have no idea how I would explain all the steps coherently. Each bag takes me 20 steps and 4 hours to make, and that’s because I know what I’m doing! Maybe a pattern would be too tricky. The green fabric is Amy Butler and the other two are Anna Maria Horner’s Drawing Room fabric.

  2. I can totally relate to the problem solving portion of creating being the interesting part – not the mass production. I think, for me, it takes a design that is fun and easy to make in order to tempt me to make more than one. I finally found something like that – see my Leetle Birdies at my etsy shop bethanystudios.etsy.com. But are they selling? No. And your bag is obviously more complex than my birds, so why would you want to sit and work hard at that all the time? To make money, obviously, but is that all there is to life? I think not. Enjoy the beach.

  3. Ok, so I love this idea and TOTALLY want one! This has officially made my wish list. Until then I will tote around my very, very boring, touristy, black camera bag. šŸ™‚

  4. Love, love, love the bag with the bird! I’ve been searching high and low for a bag like this for my camera. Please let me know if you are willing to make one!

  5. I’m a huge fan of photography and I just got my first DSLR (Sony Alpha A330)…I’m a bit late to visit this page, but I stumbled across it while looking for a case for my camera. The boring black ones are so darn..boring! Plus I don’t need anything too huge, I currently only have one lens anyways. Are you, by any chance, still selling them? I might be interested..

  6. I would also love to buy one! They really are amazing.. if you did find the time I think you’d make a killing, they seem to be popular with the comments above šŸ™‚ you could maybe sell on ebay… as the choice there is far too limited!

    • If only it were that easy! It involves lots of steps and pattern pieces that would require hours just to try to figure out if I could get it online! If only I had so many spare hours…

Leave a Reply

