And He’s Off…

_MG_8164e2web

My little boy started kindergarten today. It was such a strange experience to be the one waving goodbye on the playground instead of the one leading the line back into the classroom. I think that my having been a teacher makes me even more wistful than the average parent; I know how much fun they’re having in that classroom without me! It almost makes me wish to be teaching again…to see the light go on and a face turn brighter as a child realizes he knows the answer…what a gift. I am quite jealous of Jake’s teacher and the moments they’ll be sharing as a class.

Two years ago I never would have guessed how I’d feel today…those first few years of having two kids are so hard. It seems like every waking moment is spent cleaning up someone’s messes, feeding, clothing, and giving giving giving all day long. Then just when your little one gets to be really fun to be around and can take on a little more responsibility, you send them off to school for someone else to enjoy. I wish I could create a school where kids go two or three times a week for a half day and spend the rest of their time learning at home from the world around them…and from me, of course! See, I really am selfish. At the same time, I know that we’ve looked over our options carefully and done all the thinking and praying to know that this is where Jake should be this year. I know he’s going to love kindergarten as he’s one of those kids who thrives on routine and learning…and as a shyer type he benefits socially from a small and nurturing community like the little school that he’s in (I think his class has 15 or 16 kids?). We’ll take our schooling decisions year by year, I think. But I can’t wait to start volunteering so I can at least get a little taste of the classroom again!

What is the schooling situation like in your family? Do you enjoy it? What do you think are the strengths and weaknesses of it? I’m curious to hear so please share in the comments…

6 thoughts on “And He’s Off…

  1. Being the teacher myself (and right now the full time student) I know what you mean about how much fun kids do have at school. He’ll be lucky to have you in the class volunteering–what fun!

  2. My daughter is in her second year of preschool & will go to kindergarden next year. You know, I used to think that I couldn’t wait for the freedom to have all of my children in school. But this year something is different. She is a year older and one more {school} year closer to ‘real’ school. My husband and I grew going to Catholic schools {and we both went to a Catholic college}. So, we have made the {extremely expensive} decision to send our children to Catholic schools as well. However, the {Chicago} public school in our area offers a 3 & 4 year old preschool program and we decided that she was ready last year. And she loved it! So, at the moment we have decided to keep her at the public school and then move onto Catholic school next year. Deep down inside, I would love to keep her with me always and home school, but in my area it’s just not the norm. And while I am trying to raise my children to be open minded, independent individuals, I do not want to purposefully outcast them. Homeschooling them would definitely do that. OK…I’ll stop rambling. Have a great weekend!

  3. Awww…I still remember my first day of kindergarten!

    Our local schools are very good but also seem to foster such levels of competition that I’m not sure I’d want my kids under that stress (if I had kids.) I’m intrigued by the idea of homeschooling or private schools.

  4. It is neat that he is in a class with a small amount of kids. I bet they will become close friends! I personally can find strengths in any situation since I am a “the cup is half full” type of person. All situations and learning experiences are just that, a learning experience, a chance to grow and develop ones self. There are pluses and minuses to everything…it just depends on how you choose to look at it. I wish my kids had a farm at their school. My daughter wants a dragon for a pet, but I am sure she would be pleased to take care of goats on a daily basis. 🙂

  5. My two will be in pre-school together this year. It is a four day morning program. Then they will be off to our island public school – 70 kids in the entire K-12 building – where I happen to teach. I’m excited about seeing them during the day and never having to miss the cool things they do in the classroom. BUT having them in my own classroom may prove to be quite challenging!

  6. every family, child and situation is so different and something different of course works for all of us. We are a homeschooling family and we truly enjoy every minute of it! many warm wishes to you and your family as you are on this journey : )

Leave a Reply

