Poppyseed Cake Recipe.

I’ve been otherwise occupied this week…who would think that a few hours at kindergarten every morning could change things so drastically? I’m popping in for a quick post of one of our favorite cake recipes. I have never yet found someone who didn’t love this recipe. Try it, I mean it.

Poppyseed Cake “Recipe”

  • 1 box Duncan Hines butter recipe golden cake mix (this is why I put recipe in quotes.)
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. poppyseeds
  • 3/4 c shortening (and this is why I haven’t made this in forever…I don’t feed my kids trans fats if I can possibly avoid it, so Crisco is out. But yesterday I discovered a natural substitute at Henry’s market: Spectrum organic shortening which is non-hydrogenated and made from palm oil. It worked just like Crisco!)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c sour cream
  • butter and sugar for rubbing into the pan
  1. Preheat oven to 350 (or 325 with a dark pan)
  2. Combine cake mix, sugar, poppyseeds and shortening
  3. Add eggs one at a time, beating well
  4. Fold in the sour cream
  5. Rub butter generously over the sides and bottom of the pan
  6. Shake sugar into the pan and move the pan around to coat the butter (this is what makes the cake so great! a crispy sugary crust so you don’t need frosting)
  7. Pour in batter and bake:
  • Bundt 50-60 minutes (this is what I use…looks so pretty!)
  • 9×13 baking dish: 40 minutes
  • 2 round pans: 40-45 minutes

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Poppyseed Cake Recipe.

  1. thanks for the yummy-looking recipe!

    our wal-mart carries a store-brand shortening that is not hydrogenated – i use that for my baking needs as i try to avoid hydrogenated oils as well.

Leave a Reply

