Turning of the heart and mind.

fo blog

It has been a week of doing and making and going around here. We’re trying to establish a homeschool rhythm, only to discover that irregularity is the rhythm of a homeschooler, I think. The bustle of an upcoming holiday adds both excitement and chaos to our days. We’re all about pumpkins and fall leaves and costumes and such. Yet there are days when it takes a purposeful effort to turn my heart away from the troubles of the world and towards the blessings of God. Days like today when the day seems overtaken by the things of life (errands taking longer than expected, a lunch with unruly little ones and an uncooperative grandmother, too many hours away from home, a papier mache project waiting to be done while the supplies for said project have mysteriously vanished, the resulting mess from the papier mache, the prospect of pumpkin carving and yet another mess to be made…)

When Greg arrived home tonight, what I really wanted was to get out, alone, for an oversweetened and overpriced coffee, but with pumpkin carving as the activity of the night, I was forced instead to purposefully change my cranky attitude into an attitude of thankfulness. What could I be thankful for? The first fire of the year warming the hearth. (I clear the ashes and light the logs and listen to their crackling.) Hot chocolate for the whole family. (I take the time to heat milk and make Trader Joe’s sumptuous sipping chocolate to be sipped from the cutest little miniature cups in the cupboard.) Observing the closeness of family. (I sit back in my cozy chair and watch Greg carving the pumpkins as the boys engage in some knightly swordfighting wearing parts of their halloween costumes over bare buns.)

Such small, purposeful actions to change the course of my day begin to warm my heart, until I’m refreshed and renewed, ready to enjoy the joyful shouts as we light our jack-o-lanterns for the first time (one mad pumpkin and one giggling one, as requested.) Today is a good lesson for me. Be the change you want to see in the world, Gandhi once said. Maybe I never realized before that if I want to change my attitude, I need to get up and act. Light that fire, set the mood for a positive attitude, make it happen. And although it is more directed towards thoughts of salvation, scripture brings wisdom to my mind today: For those who are according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For the mind set on the flesh is death, but the mind set on the Spirit is life and peace. -Romans 8:5-6

4 thoughts on “Turning of the heart and mind.

  1. hi there Linn,

    just got a minute to catch up on your life. Love it. Sounds so great. You know, we have been going through something similar, just in that we have recently moved, and are not sure when we will move again (into a house) so we didn’t unpack everything. Through this we are realizing, hey, we don’t need everything! ha. It is a good feeling to minimize. I love your blog, it is beautiful, and love to read about your thought on life. Look forward to seeing you in a few weeks and hearing more about your hybrid homeschooling! ox

Leave a Reply

