Homeschooling Through the Holidays.

Our choice to homeschool this year had nothing to do with how it would affect the holidays, but I’m seeing it as a great perk of homeschooling! Just think, all those fun projects I used to do with my students when I was teaching can now be brought home and done with my own kids! The art projects! The crafts! The gift making! And to all that I can add stories and crafts and projects and teaching that celebrates our family’s desire to hold Christ at the center of Christmas. We’re already pretty loose homeschoolers (unschooling is the philosophy I most identify with for these early years) and I imagine it will get even less structured in the coming weeks. The singing, the baking, the ornament making! Oh, I can envision it all!

Which reminds me, I’ve got to get going on those last homemade presents if I want them to be done this week. The boys’ last presents should be arriving via UPS in the next few days and then I can get everything wrapped and breathe a sigh of relief. We only have one homeschool class in December (besides Jake’s weekly hour of computers, which he loves) so there should be plenty of time for celebrating the season through our homeschool activities together. I’m kicking it off next week when we’ll drop our regular schedule and spend our days with a Simple Science unit in which we’ll explore magnets, bouyancy, and matter (solid, liquid, gas, evaporation, etc.) I know Jake will be thrilled, as “not enough Science” was one of his biggest complaints before we pulled him out of kindergarten.

The second activity on my list for next week is to make pilgrim and indian costumes out of paper grocery bags. Just because I had one when I was little and I think they are super cool. And yes, I realize that “Native American” is the more politically correct term, but my aunt who’s a docent at a local museum informed me that “Indian” or “American Indian” is making a comeback. So I’m sticking with it.

Oh, and we’ll be doing some more baking next week. Paula Deen’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake which a friend brought over a few weeks back and I’ve been craving every since. Okay, I’m rambling. I’ll sign off now before I get myself too worked up. Good night.

4 thoughts on “Homeschooling Through the Holidays.

  1. I agree with Tracy – this post was really inspiring. Makes me exited for Christmas too!
    I love the line of flowers on the windowsill. We did a time lapse film of the colors moving into the petals – really easy to do and great fun.
    Thanks for this post. It really lifted my day.
    best wishes, Julie.

  2. hi linn!

    very isnpiring. and as i read this post, i find myself jealous. surely there is a community somewhere near me {in chicago} that supports a simpler, slower life??? i went to my 4 year old daughter’s parent-teacher conference yesterday and was told that she may have an issue with attention span. i then asked the teacher how i could help my daughter overcome this issue and she replied, “She’s 4.” so frustrating. i guess i don’t know where to begin with my daughter. how can i start to dabble in unschooling while she’s still in school? anyhow…I’M rambling. thanks for your inspiration. 🙂

    michelle

  3. Hi! I enjoyed reading through your blog. I am taking Jessica’s HIH class and I have been taking some time reading some of the other class member’s blogs! This post really caught my attention. I LOVE reading anything and everything about homeschooling! My kids are only 2 and 1, but I want to homeschool them and am already incorporating a lot of “preschool” activities into our day! I was also a teacher before having kids!!! That is awesome that you can use your talents and knowledge with your own kids! Have a great day! 🙂 (sorry to go on and on!!!)

Leave a Reply

