“Do You Think I Can Make Four Pairs of Pajama Pants In Forty-Five Minutes?”

The short answer is NO. But I’ll get to that in a minute.

I don’t know where the time has gone around here. One minute we’re getting ready for Thanksgiving and the next minute we’re cleaning house for Christmas Eve. In the midst of it all our house looks like the picture above…messy most of the time with boxes of this and that lying around and pieces of this toy and that craft wandering from room to room. But the lights and decorations are up, reminding me that it’s Christmastime, even if I’ve forgotten to play my Christmas music (oh, how I love Christmas music!)

The Life Book for my grandmother is finished and beautiful in its 28 pages of glory. When the actual copy arrives in my hand (on Christmas Eve?) I’ll be sure to share. I’m oh so proud of that baby. It’s one of those projects that you always think you should do someday and then the day never comes and you’ve lost the opportunity. I’m so glad to break that cycle and actually accomplish something of importance for our family. It’s a Christmas present to myself of sorts.

As for the aforementioned pajama pants, I’ve taken the plunge and purchased a serger. Well, technically Greg purchased the serger for me for Christmas, but when your dear husband allows, neigh, encourages you to open your present and play with it three weeks early, you just can’t say no. So I’ve been serging. Some tote bags, of course. Then I attempted to sew a blouse for myself. And I did pretty well for my first try, if I do say so myself. Now if I can just fix that crazy neckline problem, I might be able to wear it in public. Speaking of wearing things in public, I did finish the pants I started at Girls’ Weekend and they turned out great! I wore them for the first time on Friday (when the 75 degree weather just called for capris) and I like them just fine! By that I mean that the next pair will be even better but this one received the stamp of approval from our faux daughter who’s a trendy twenty year old, so if it passes her test, I’m good. So anyway, I’ve got one shirt (kind of) and one pair of pants (more of those to come) and the pajama pants.

I realized last week that for the first time in their lives, the boys do not have any matching pajamas right now. How can I take pictures on Christmas morning without them coordinating? What would my scrapbook pages look like? Oh dear, it’s a real issue around here. So I bought some flannel and serged up four pairs of pajama pants. I tried to do it in the last forty-five minutes at my parents’ house today, hence the question in the title. (My mom laughed and answered “No way!” and my dad said “Hey! I think you should be encouraging her! I’d like to see her try!”) I did not make it. But I don’t think two hours and fifteen minutes and $22.50 is too high a price to pay for four pairs of cute jammies (including coordinating pajama tops) that they can wear all winter. And my boys WEAR their jammies, if you know what I mean. And if you spend any time around our house, you do know what I mean.

I’m not sure if I’ll be stopping by again before Christmas although I will certainly try, as I have quite a few moments I’d like to record from this season. But in any case, I hope you and yours are enjoying some quality and quantity time together and remembering the real reason we celebrate. Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on ““Do You Think I Can Make Four Pairs of Pajama Pants In Forty-Five Minutes?”

  1. Oh, my goodness, Linn. Your living room is the essence of coziness. What a lovely place to snuggle down and do some knitting, quilting or just dreaming with a cup of tea. The pajama pants? Well, good luck!!! I couldn’t do it. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  2. I keep forgetting to say that I am charmed by the slowly falling snow.It adds and though it’s movement and spots, not too distracting. Now that’s what an artist wants. Interesting while not overdone. Now about me. My central tree is overdone, yet I hope after the first WoW still has enough details to bring people in to look at details. Art away,to you and your readers! (I mean always including cooking and all the domestic arts.)

Leave a Reply

