2010 Photography Resolutions.

It is no secret that photography is one of my favorite hobbies, passions, artforms. In 2008, I did a Photo 365 project, taking 365 pictures for the year (it was supposed to be one per day, but as I’m the forgetful sort, I ended up doing 30ish per month.) I also attended the Creative Photography Retreat that year and found that the combination of the retreat and the 365 challenge plus a new lens, made for a lot of improvement in my photography that year.

As I look back on 2009, I don’t feel like I made nearly as much progress in my pursuit of photography as I did the previous year. It’s easy to make drastic improvement when you’re starting from “I don’t know what I’m doing and my camera is always set on P.” But this past year I don’t see great strides in my photography. With that in mind, I want to be purposeful about my goals for photography this year.

  • I will learn to use my new camera (a Canon 50D) and understand all of its settings. My first pictures (today and yesterday) are turning out decent but not great. There’s definitely room for improvement.
  • I will practice using Photoshop actions more often so I can figure out what each action actually does. I love it when people use photoshop manipulation to evoke a certain mood…I see it as part of the artistic process. I want to get a grasp on the various things I can do with Photoshop.
  • I will do a weekly photo challenge and choose five photos a week: one self portrait, one landscape, one still life, with the other two being of anything. At the end of the year I’ll have 250ish photos to hopefully see my growth.
  • I will practice taking portraits inside. I am pretty good at being outside using natural light, but there are some amazing photographers who do beautiful portraiture in their clients’ homes. I love the idea of capturing someone at home. I’m hoping to add some portraits into my weekly five mix as well. We’ll see if I can find any willing subjects.
  • I will post my Weekly Five pictures on my blog each week. This will probably be the hardest of the resolutions for me, as I really resist any deadlines when it comes to my blog. We’ll see how this one pans out in the coming weeks.

I think that’s it for now. I’d love to incorporate some of the monthly challenges from ShutterSisters and the photography challenges from Pioneer Woman, so I’ll note those when I take them. I always reserve the right to change my mind when it comes to projects and resolutions. Sometimes you just find that things need to be tweaked in the weeks after starting a project. And why beat yourself up over trying to fit into molds that don’t work? I’ll keep you updated on any changes!

One thought on “2010 Photography Resolutions.

Leave a Reply

