Introduction to Keri Wyatt Kent.

I am thrilled to host a stop tomorrow on the blog tour of my favorite christian author, Keri Wyatt Kent. I’ve always been an avid reader, so when I started having kids you can guess what happened. First, parenting book overload. Second, lack of time to read at all. Life creeps in and free time makes a sudden exit, leaving you wondering what happened. Going from a busy teaching career to a life as an isolated stay-at-home mom was quite a transition for me. At first I thought, Wow! Think of what I can do with a whole day without working! (Ha! If you’ve had a baby of your own are you laughing yet?) I had grand plans for my “free time” and filled my calendar with one commitment after another and volunteered for several responsibilities at my own church and MOPS. I finally had time to serve God in so many ways that I never could before. But I couldn’t figure out why I felt so harried…how could this tiny little being really need so much time from me? I realized I could not care for baby Jake, keep the house functional, and maintain a schedule with two outside events a day. (What? Just one morning and and one afternoon activity in the same day was too much? This was strange for me.) Enter: Keri Wyatt Kent. The cure for the christian who’s trying to be super-mom.

The first book I read of hers was God’s Whisper in a Mother’s Chaos: Bringing Peace Home. She wrote it when her own children were in this preschool/toddler phase. It is short and it captures just what the title says: How to hear God’s still small voice in the everyday life of early motherhood. It was a relief to know that I wasn’t alone in my struggles. I began to ponder the idea of motherhood as a major part of my calling as a christian.

But the book that changed my life was Breathe: Creating Space for God in a Hectic Life. It was while reading that book that I realized that life wouldn’t slow down on its own unless I purposefully made it. At the time I first read it, I had a newborn and a toddler and more outside of home responsibilities than I could list here. We were busy, which I generally liked, but I felt disconnected from the life God had for me. Reading that book then (and re-reading it at least three or four times since) is what saved me from complete burnout. In fact, I trace the beginnings of my Slow Living roots back to the first reading of that book. It definitely set me on the Slow path I’m on now.

Another of Keri’s books (and Keri herself!) played an important role in my life a few years ago. Listen was my “one little word” for 2008, and for some reason I never knew Keri had a book of the same name. I found out when a women’s retreat I’d signed up for had Keri as its speaker, and she was speaking on the topic addressed in her book Listen: Finding God in the Story of Your Life. That book and that weekend were strategic in helping me learn how to listen to God and look for His direction for my life. And getting to know Keri a little bit in person was inspiring for me, as her works had already been so instrumental in my christian walk.

So tomorrow, I’ll be participating in her blog tour by posting a review of her newest book, Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World

I can’t wait to share more about it. Come back tomorrow and check it out and you just might win a book for yourself!

3 thoughts on “Introduction to Keri Wyatt Kent.

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I got her book Breathe. It was only one of hers my library had. I was looking for something like this. I am reading it now and finding it very helpful and thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

