January Cooking Night.

Last night we held our first monthly cooking night (one of my food goals for the year). It was an evening of family, friends, football watching, and very good food. Greg cleaned the house while I prepared for the evening by reading my new bread baking book, like this:

Then my mom and sister arrived and we shopped at Henry’s, chopped, baked, broiled and boiled for an Eastern European themed feast, centered around our good friends’ Bigos, Poland’s national dish which they perfected while living there for many years. I was lucky enough to have them as my second family when I lived with them in Krakow for a few months, and we were so glad to have their company for our cooking night. The Bigos is basically a meat, cabbage, and sauerkraut stew, to go along with my very first loaves of oven-baked bread which turned out more beautifully than I could have hoped.

I also made some roasted root vegetables, although I picked at them so much as we cooked the meal that not very many of them made it to the final table!

My sister made some pierogi-type dumplings with a spiced apple filling, and my mom made acorn squash stuffed with a meat, pine nut and raisin mixture.

Aunt Krissy finished the meal with some cardamon flavored custards with poached pears in a red wine reduction sauce. A lovely meal and lovely conversation. Next month: Italian!

5 thoughts on “January Cooking Night.

  1. I feel like I have just enjoyed an episode of the Barefoot Contessa! I want to start a Cooking Night! Those roasted root vegetables would not have made it very far in my house, either. LOVE them! Lori

  2. One of the “rules” (which could be broken if you wanted to) was it was to be a dish you had not made before. Perhaps you had torn it out of a magazine over a year ago.

Leave a Reply

