lent2010 :: what i made today :: day2

  • Today I made a lot of progress on downloading and editing my Las Vegas pictures. An accomplishment because these days I’m trying to monitor closely the boys’ interactions and stop them when I hear or see a bad attitude beginning. (a la Raising Godly Tomatoes) Trying to break some habits of theirs, but it requires lots of constant attention on my part therefor less computer time. Glad to have these photos begun.
  • Today I made a whole lot of popcorn to take to Little League practice for the little brothers and sisters who patiently play while brothers learn.
  • Today I made a husband happy by accompanying him to the Laker-Celtic game with his boss and some potential clients. Late into the night. But with good company.

lent 2010: for the past several years I’ve adopted a habit or given up a habit for the forty days before Easter in remembrance and celebration of Jesus’ sacrifice for us. This year I am going to try to give up discouragement. It is so easy as a stay-at-home mom to become discouraged about what I didn’t accomplish each day. The house is never quite as clean as I had hoped, the to-do list always seems to get longer rather than shorter, and there never seems to be enough time to “accomplish” anything that feels significant and productive. But in truth, my value comes not from what I accomplish but who I am as a child of God. And when I stop to think about it, I do “produce” quite a bit even on the most unproductive days…love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control are all fruits that are slowly growing in our home, along with a few tangible projects. I plan to share these “accomplishments” here as often as I can, as a reminder to put aside discouragement and dissatisfaction with the wonderful life God has given me. This might be the hardest habit I’ve ever tried to break during lent. Are you interested in joining me on the journey? If so, post your own “what I made today” in the comments or on your own blog and link it here so we can all rejoice in our progress together.

One thought on “lent2010 :: what i made today :: day2

Leave a Reply

