Last Night.

Last night was my last night on High School staff at church. I made the decision after praying about it for quite a while, and last week I finally felt that it was time. It’s so hard to make decisions when you’re a mom…what role do we play in ministry and at work and at church vs. what role we play at home with our kids, husbands, and personal relationships with God? I know that biblically the latter three should be my first priorities, but I know I can also give of myself in other places as long as it doesn’t negatively affect my top three priorities (God, husband, kids). And although being on High School staff hasn’t affected my kids (Grandma babysits…yahoo for them!), it’s definitely made for one too many things on my plate and I feel overcommitted. I need to remember that in order to be the best mom and wife and child of God that I can be, I need to nurture myself. I am looking forward to my free Wednesday nights now, which I can spend at the library or coffee shop where no one will talk to me, or in my sewing room or at my computer creating something. It’s definitely a needed mid-week break that will refuel my soul. But I will miss the high schoolers. Thankfully I can still see them on Sunday mornings. This week was also my last Stamping Club class, which had become another drain on my soul. Phew! It feels good to let go of something that’s not working for me anymore and look forward to the next steps in life. I try to remember that change is good. And sometimes a Spring Cleaning is more necessary in our lives than in our homes.

I love how high schoolers have to hug everyone when they come to youth group. I think it’s a great excuse for a little contact with the opposite sex. Do you remember that thrill from when you were a teenager?

Gathering outside…who knows why. When a couple of kids end up there, everyone else follows.

I love hearing these kids pray and talk about God. It restores my faith in the youth of the world. There is hope…there is light…

…and there is a game involving blended soup, orange juice, and spam, among other things. Would it be youth group without it?

For everything there is a season,
a time for every activity under heaven.
A time to be born and a time to die.
A time to plant and a time to harvest.
A time to kill and a time to heal.
A time to tear down and a time to build up.
A time to cry and a time to laugh.
A time to grieve and a time to dance.
A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.
A time to embrace and a time to turn away.
A time to search and a time to quit searching.
A time to keep and a time to throw away.
A time to tear and a time to mend.
A time to be quiet and a time to speak.
A time to love and a time to hate.
A time for war and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

3 thoughts on “Last Night.

  1. thank you for sharing. this is all very true! Def. different seasons and different focuses of ministry in those seasons. Going through those transitions right now…thanks for helping with your words!!

Leave a Reply

