lent2010 :: what i made today :: day 14

I’ve been making a lot of art lately, starting with updating my Becky Higgins Project Life scrapbook. I love this system. The kit you buy comes with over 25 divided page protectors and all the coordinated and precut “cards” to slip into all of those slots. I think the book is aimed at people doing a Project365 (taking a photo a day for the whole year) but it works great for me with my 5Photos project. I’m printing out my photos from each week, along with a couple of other favorites, rounding the corners and slipping them in. Then I search through my scrapbooking stash for embellishments small enough to fit into the small pockets and I slide them in. Add a little bit of journaling about the week in general or the picture in particular and I’m done.

Last year I didn’t scrapbook at all, as I found I really had TOO many scrapbook pages with great pictures of the boys and not much story. This year, I’m thinking this will be my 2010 scrapbook. I’ll make separate traditional or hybrid pages for my separate albums (I have one for each major holiday, and one for beach, disneyland, angel games, and birthdays.) I’m really happy with how this one is turning out. The downside of the kit is there are no spaces for large vertical photos. But I’ve incorporated a few other divided page protectors or I just cut the picture in half and slide it into two adjacent slots, or, like in the picture above and below, I add in a separate  small page protector for those pictures. I like the way these smaller pages work in the book. This time I stitched next to the photo and tried my scallop border punch on the page protector. It looks cute, but it was hard. Probably worth the effort. Do I have any other scrapbookers out there? I know this isn’t really a scrapping blog, but I might start sharing more of my albums here. What’s your opinion on that?

Next time, some fine art.

So lucky that I have beach photos in January. California, I love you today.

I bought a 3 and a 5 to stitch onto a t-shirt for each boy last year. Then they suddenly turned 4 and 6…did I procrastinate? No, I was purposely saving them for the scrapbook…yeah, that’s it.

Birthday stickers saved from Farrell’s. It’s nice that the pockets are divided so I don’t have to worry about including non acid-free stuff like this.

Every once in awhile I have a whole two page spread from one day, and that’s fine with me. I just throw them in there with the other weeks.

I keep trying to figure out what to do with my orange bags from the farmer’s market. I love this! My artistic vision statement (which I created that week) is also printed along with three pictures of the art we’d been doing that week.

P.S. I just started a Project Life Scrappers group on flickr for anyone who would like some inspiration and to share your creations. Please go and join if you are doing this project, too!

lent 2010: for the past several years I’ve adopted a habit or given up a habit for the forty days before Easter in remembrance and celebration of Jesus’ sacrifice for us. This year I am going to try to give up discouragement. It is so easy as a stay-at-home mom to become discouraged about what I didn’t accomplish each day. The house is never quite as clean as I had hoped, the to-do list always seems to get longer rather than shorter, and there never seems to be enough time to “accomplish” anything that feels significant and productive. But in truth, my value comes not from what I accomplish but who I am as a child of God. And when I stop to think about it, I do “produce” quite a bit even on the most unproductive days…love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control are all fruits that are slowly growing in our home, along with a few tangible projects. I plan to share these “accomplishments” here as often as I can, as a reminder to put aside discouragement and dissatisfaction with the wonderful life God has given me. This might be the hardest habit I’ve ever tried to break during lent. Are you interested in joining me on the journey? If so, post your own “what I made today” in the comments or on your own blog and link it here so we can all rejoice in our progress together.

2 thoughts on “lent2010 :: what i made today :: day 14

  1. I’m using BH’s Project Life kit too. (I used to scrapbook, but just don’t have the time or energy to do it, but still have a lot of supplies). I’m not taking a picture a day, but am focusing on each week instead (so some days are represented by multiple shots and other days aren’t represented at all). I like how you are incorporating your 4×6 vertical shots. I’m mostly resizing my verticals to fit into the journaling spots. I’m also adding in 8.5×11 page protectors for special occasions or days that I want to document more thoroughly. Those page protectors have spots for vertical shots. I don’t have pictures of my finished add-in page protectors. Hoping to do that soon.

    Your book is coming along great and I really like looking at your photos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

