I’ve gotten something done!

It is finished! One of the worst things about this surgery recovery is the complete lack of “accomplishments.” It is so hard to remember that resting and healing are major achievements in themselves. But I did manage to finish one long overdue project…I finally did the binding on this quilt and can declare it finished!

I think perhaps Jessica and Liz and my personal relatives are the only readers who’ve been around long enough to remember this quilt, which I first posted about in July 2008 (no, that is not a typo!) I took a class to make the quilt top back in the Spring of 2008 and I finished the top while in Las Vegas that May. (This is just a pattern that the teacher at the local quilt shop made up, along with a piano key border along two sides to make it longer. I made it all with a Moda fabric line that I can’t remember the name of. Shangrila or something, maybe?) I pinned it in July 2008 and there it has sat for almost two years. Where did that time go?! It doesn’t seem like that long. I wanted a new large throw quilt for our family room to match this wall quilt that hangs above our couch.

About a month ago I took the time (finally!) to do some very sparse machine quilting (just lines along the edges of each block) and start the binding, but for the past few months I just never got around to finishing that binding. But binding a quilt is something that can be done while lounging back on a cushy chair, so I finished it. Yes! And I’ve been enjoying it in the few weeks since then, and, of course, wondering why I didn’t do this two years ago.

7 thoughts on “I’ve gotten something done!

  1. Hi! I just found your blog via a comment you left on WishStudio. I immediately noticed that you have my favorite scripture in your sidebar! I keep that scripture in my head daily to remind me that I can make it through whatever life hands me that day.

    I am jewelry designer and quilter, as well as a SAHM mom of 2 boys.

    I’m looking forward to perusing your blog and catching up on your past posts.

    Have a blessed day!

  2. I do remember! It looks GREAT! I suppose I should let this motivate me to finish the quilt I started back in 1998. Ouch. 1998 is so much worse than 2008!

Leave a Reply

