Normal Day, You Are a Gift.

I created this page with some very ordinary pictures from the past week. Mostly I wanted to document the everyday things that happen around here. It's not much of a scrapbook page, but it's preserving a moment in time that I don't want to forget. In the News Template from LivE designs from jessicasprague.com

A few years ago when I first discovered blogs, I stumbled across a blog post from Brené Brown encouraging women to embrace themselves and their ordinariness. Does that sound odd? At first I thought so, too. I wish I could find that old post/link, but basically it woke me up to the fact that  just being an ordinary everyday normal human being is a wonderful gift. There is no need to chase after fame, fortune, notoriety, although we’re naturally drawn toward those desires. No, being ordinary is a good thing.
Just living life as a normal stay-at-home-mom isn’t going to rock the world, but it will help my boys tuck a happy childhood under their belts. It will give my husband a place to feel accepted, supported, loved, and at home. It will be a respite from the chaos and stress that rules the outside world. It won’t bring me money or help me write a wonderful book or make me a successful businesswoman. But it will give me a chance to find my worth not in worldly things, but in the moments I’m making for myself and my family. Together. Being ordinary isn’t so bad after all. In fact, I hope my boys learn that if being an ordinary husband and dad who works hard and loves God and his family is all they do in this life, that’s a good thing. Ordinary is the new black. I’m embracing it and celebrating it.
So here’s to ordinary lives and ordinary days. I know that as the years pass, I’ll look back on these days and be thankful for their everyday ordinariness.
Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return. -Mary Jean Iron
One thought on “Normal Day, You Are a Gift.

  1. oh dear, I am so sorry to hear that the past weeks were so difficult. I didn’t visit your space for a long time and found now all the news. i hope your recovery goes on well and I hope you will be blessed with a lot more of these normal days. hooray to the mundane peaceful living!!! and thank you for the reminder.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

