We Love Tofu.

Yesterday I finally made a real home cooked meal for the first time in weeks. Yes, I’ve been scrounging and putting meals on the table now and then and here and there, but I’m finally feeling a whole lot better and made one of my favorite recipes last night. The first time I made this recipe I couldn’t stop wondering if I really made it, because it was THAT good. Mmmmm. And it’s also really easy. Imagine that. And it’s a tofu dish, of all things.

My husband is allergic to chicken. Every time another woman hears this fact, they lament that they would not know what to cook every night if they couldn’t do chicken. It’s something that doesn’t bother me, as I didn’t cook much for myself when I was a bachelorette before Greg came along, so my cooking repertoire just never included any chicken. Our family eats lots of fish, pasta, tofu, grass-fed beef, and the occasional pork or turkey dish. And although we’ve always loved tofu (cut and pressed, brushed with soy sauce and roasted, or in a stir fry), tofu has never been this good. Really.

If you are not a tofu eater, you simply MUST try this dish. It’s from a The Flexitarian Table, a cookbook that I like the look of but haven’t had a chance to cook many things out of. The premise behind the book is that if you have both meat eaters and vegetarians at your table, you can cook a similar dish for each. This recipe can be used for tofu or a white fish like striped bass. Or, if you’re like me and disregard recipe recommendations, you’ll just use whatever fish you have on hand. I actually threw a few salmon fillets in the pan alongside the tofu. I think a milder white fish would have been better, but Jake and Greg devoured the salmon while Tyler and I finished off the tofu. Yum. If the rest of the book is anything like this dish, we’re in for a treat.

Tofu with Lemon, Soy, White Wine, and Butter Sauce (serves 2-3)

  • 1 lb. firm tofu, sliced into six 1/2 inch slabs
  • 1/4 c dry white wine
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 2 t honey
  • 3 T unsalted butter, cubed (yes, this is a lot of butter, but think of how much less fat it has than a meat dish that you might cook instead!)
  • 2 T finely chopped shallot
  • 1 1/2 inch slice fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped (we leave this out because we’re not ginger fans)
  • 1/2 t sea salt or kosher salt
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes (we leave this out, too, as the boys aren’t into spicy)
  • 3-4 sprigs fresh thyme or rosemary (we used rosemary)

Preheat oven to 400. Lay the tofu in a small ovenproof skillet that will hold it comfortably without overlapping. In a small bowl, stir together the wine, soy sauce, lemon juice, and honey. Scatter the butter cubes, shallot, and ginger over the tofu, pour the wine mixture over and around, and season the tofu with the salt and red pepper flakes. Scatter the thyme or rosemary sprigs over the tofu. Bring to a boil over high heat, then transfer the pan to the oven and bake (in the upper third of the oven) for 10 minutes. (If you’re doing fish, remove it now before simmering the sauce.) Place the pan over high heat, bring the sauce to a simmer until it begins to thicken, 3-5 minutes. Discard the herbs and serve the tofu drizzled with the pan sauce.

Enjoy! We serve with brown rice and whatever vegetable is on hand. Please tell me how you like it if you try it. Then I can consider myself a tofu evangelist.

3 thoughts on “We Love Tofu.

  1. Exactly which “dry white wine” did you use? I think it makes a difference. I think I’ll try this and with the fresh ginger. Oh, was it that tough tofu, or the softer sort since it’s not stirred?

    • You know me, Krissy…I have no idea which dry white wine I used…in fact, I don’t even know if it was really ‘dry’. But each time I’ve made it, it is delicious. Yes, use extra firm tofu, not soft.

Leave a Reply

