Sweet Tooth & A Book.

Was it a good idea to settle in with a bowl of ice cream drizzled with fudge sauce last night, only days after the doctor told me I’m restricted from lifting and exercising for another 4-6 weeks? Probably not.

But how can I help myself when I’m in the middle of reading what can only be described as the most delicious food memoir…A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. I wanted to buy it a year ago when everyone was raving about it, but I couldn’t bring myself to pay the hardcover price. So when I saw it last week in paperback I took it straight home, thinking I’d found a new cookbook. Little did I know that it’s more of a life story than a cookbook, although every recipe seemed to make my mouth water, despite them using ingredients I normally eschew, like fennel and a whole lot of ginger. Somehow Molly made even those recipes sound intriguing, probably because of the way her life was woven in with them in the book. It made me long for my days in Paris…all four of them, that is. It made me want to jump up and make the cabbage in cream recipe, although I have no cream in my fridge. It made me want to read more, just as a good book should.

But when I didn’t have the complete ingredients for any of the recipes, I settled for a bowl of ice cream with slightly bittersweet fudge sauce I made a few months back. I think it was a decent compromise. I’m definitely heading out to the store today to buy the ingredients to make several of Molly’s recipes. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

