5photos :: week thirty-six

I’m finally all caught up on my 5photos project here. What I need to remember is why I started this project in the first place: to improve my landscape and portrait photography and to take a self-portrait almost every week. I’m doing pretty well in the portrait department and a lot better than in the past in the self-portrait department, but I’ve dropped the ball when it comes to landscape photography. It’s just that I don’t really go anywhere that interesting in my weekly routine, especially this first week of school. I have so many beach photos that I didn’t even bring my camera the last two weeks. I need to get out and find something scenic to photograph. You see how this blog keeps me on my toes? The fact that my pictures are in a rut signals to me that my life is in a rut, too. It’s a good reminder to me to keep life fresh.

As for the past week’s 5photos, I finally got some good ones of Tyler and his beloved swim teacher, Andy. That man really ought to have been a preschool teacher. He makes me seem really boring in comparison.

Other everyday news…this photo previously shared which captures life with a 4 and 6 year old. Particularly nights with a 4 and 6 year old. Messy, but cozy.

This mess, on the other hand, was totally self induced. Every year or so I completely empty out my office/art studio into the living room and purge. It feels so good. I’ll take a picture of the fresh new room soon and share it. I better do it quickly, before it gets messy again.

Of course, the biggest event of the past week was the boys starting school. I love this one because the look is just SO Jake. Cautious, quiet, sweet, but not totally innocent.

And, not surprisingly, this look is SO Tyler. Leaping off the ground for the joy of going to preschool.

And coincidentally, this one really captures Greg. His work shirt loosened up for dinner and to play with the boys for the evening, and sporting “cookie eyes” to make the boys laugh. I picked a winner.

It’s been a long week. Capped off today with sickness that kept Jake from school and will most likely keep him and maybe Tyler home tomorrow. Adjusting is difficult. But life is good. School is good and our family is good and there is joy even when there isn’t necessarily happiness. After a busy and quick summer, this fall could really shape up into something great.

Leave a Reply

