Falling Behind or Getting Ahead?

I was about to post here how I’m falling behind because it’s been a week since my last post and I don’t even have any new photos edited to share. Then I realized that I’m falling behind because I’m getting ahead…

We only have two weeks and one day until our last foster parenting class. What?! We’re photocopying paperwork and babyproofing everything and building the trundle bed and mentally preparing for the fact that we could have a new child in less than a month. It does not seem real yet. I don’t feel ready.

I mostly don’t feel ready because I haven’t really gotten into the rhythm of school yet. I was just getting into the groove of cleaning up after breakfast and lunch and doing the laundry and dishes enough times daily to keep on top of things before school began and now I’m back at square one. My stress level always rises when there are dirty dishes out and laundry that I’m behind on. But I can’t quite figure out my schedule these days. Leaving the house at 7:30 a.m. doesn’t give me enough time to clean up after breakfast and once I get going with my day, it’s hard to find where these essential cleanups fit in. I haven’t hit my stride yet. And I feel like I’ve GOT to get this down before the foster kiddo(s) arrive! If I can’t get it under control with my own two kids, I don’t know how I can do it with any more!

In the meantime it’s not like I have anything else to do like starting a boy scout den or keeping up with my women’s bible study or coordinating our church fellowship group, all with my mother-in-law, who is my Wednesday night babysitter, out of town for the next month. I don’t like complaining about being too busy. It used to be that I, like the rest of Orange County, wore those complaints like a badge of honor. “I am important because I am stressed and busier than you” is the general message behind these boasts. I don’t like it. To me, if I have to say I’m stressed and busy then I have failed somewhere. That’s how I know that I’ve overcommitted myself and need to refocus. But sometimes this is just life, and there’s nowhere to cut back. You just have to slosh through it all as best you can.

So I’m trying to keep my head above water and get our daily and weekly rhythms under control before our home welcomes even more chaos. Yikes. It seems like this foster process has been going on forever, yet here we are with only a few weeks to go, and I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed.

I don’t know when I’ll get a chance to post here but don’t give up on me yet!

3 thoughts on “Falling Behind or Getting Ahead?

  1. Linn, I think it’s time to invest in some paper plates and bowls. They’re paper so they are green and think about it…you are saving water and giving your dish washer the afternoon off.
    And of course just use them for breakfast and lunch…I do!

Leave a Reply

