Keeping Busy: T.V. & Novels

I wrote this post before the foster kiddos arrived and never got around to posting it. Now there’s NO problem keeping busy! Although my reading time has been drastically reduced, I’m still in a book club so it’s forcing me to read one book a month. Our first month we read The Help which we all loved. Then Eat, Pray, Love, which I really liked and the group was split on. Then The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte which was great. This month we’re reading Plain Truth, which is lucky since I’ve already read it and I’m not sure I’ll have time to read this month. I’m trying to read The Elegance of the Hedgehog here on vacation but having trouble getting into it. I have a feeling it will be abandoned when we get home. Anyway, here’s the post as I wrote it a month or so ago.

Despite the speedy passing of these summer days, I’ve managed to steal a few minutes here and an evening there just to ignore the housework and relax and renew. In the moments of quiet I read, I write, and I lounge with the hubby while he channel surfs. Every few days I’ll stop what I’m doing and really pay attention to a show we like. What are your favorite t.v. shows? So many of our favorites have ended (24, Lost, Alias, The Unit) and we’re losing interest in a few others (no more American Idol for me…it won’t ever be the same without Simon!) We’re left with a short list of favorites: The Big Bang Theory, Amazing Race, Chuck, Community, Raising Hope, Lie to Me, Leverage, Whale Wars (which I was shocked that Greg liked, being that it’s so pro-environmentalist. Turns out he has a soft spot for whales. Or perhaps the soft spot is actually for vigilante justice…what he would do if he were in charge of the world…) With our DVR, we don’t watch any commercials and zip through our shows in the evening after the boys go to bed.

And there have been A LOT of books passing through my hands since my surgery on April first. At first, I lost myself in a few novels to keep my mind off the pain of the body and the “pain” of being trapped as an invalid. I caught up on my Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Piccoult and I sampled my first Stephanie Myers Twilight book, among others. My reviews:

  • I started the post-surgery reading with Anita Shreve’s Testimony, which I didn’t like. I prefer not to read books about topics like rape and abuse. Bummer that this was the first book I tried post-surgery. I did like the other book of hers that I read, The Weight of Water, which had an interesting setting and plot line about a murder and Norwegian immigrants on an isolated island off the East Coast long ago. But although I thought I’d read Fortune’s Rocks and The Pilot’s Wife, the synopses on her website don’t ring any bells. Maybe I was mistaken? If so, then what was that book I read about a pilot’s wife who discovers he had a child with a stranger during a stormy layover in Hawaii? I need to check those out from the library and see if I actually have read them.
  • The Twilight Series: I liked the first book. Good character development and an interesting read. I just didn’t like it enough to want to read the other three, with them each being gigantic! So I gave them back to my friend who was aghast that I could stop after just one. Then I saw the first two movies…they just didn’t do Edward justice! But after seeing the third movie with friends in the theater, I just HAD to read the last one, and I loved it. Couldn’t put it down. As in, my life was a shell those few days and I was just getting through the monotony of chores and things until I could pick up the book again. I think having seen the movies and read the first book was a good way to get me into that last book.
  • Nicholas Sparks: I admit it, I love him. My recent favorites are The Lucky One (about a soldier who finds a lucky photo of a woman and seeks her out upon his return home…great love story!) and Dear John (again about a soldier, but one who’s trying to maintain a long distance relationship and about his return home in the end…I cried!) I didn’t like The Choice or True Believer or At First Sight as much, but his books are always a good quick little read.
  • Jodi Picoult: I’m back and forth on her books. Some of them I love, others I could do without. Loved the first one I read of hers, My Sister’s Keeper. So good. About a young girl who sues her parents to keep them from continually harvesting her organs to heal her dying older sister. A sister she dearly loves. Great book. I liked her Plain Truth just fine, while I probably could have done without Vanishing Acts, and I downright hated The Tenth Circleand Perfect Matchand Keeping Faith. Then I just read Picture Perfect and loved it. Really loved it. About a woman married to a movie star and their relationship over time. Another great one. Which ones of hers did you like?

I have The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo waiting patiently in my cabinet, but I can’t seem to start reading it. The summary on the book jacket just doesn’t do it for me. Are there any other great books I’m missing lately?

4 thoughts on “Keeping Busy: T.V. & Novels

  1. We totally like the same authors! Nicholas Sparks, Richard Paul Evans, Jodi Picoult, Anita Shreve… all good. I’m reading Picture Perfect right now and loving it!

    P.S. The book about the pilot in Hawaii is Oceans Apart by Karen Kingsbury.

  2. The Pilot’s Wife is the only Anita Shreve book I have ever liked…she is by far my least favorite author. On the other hand I love Jodi Picoult! I am halfway through The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and I would say give it to page 70 before you make your decision, there is a lot of character building. Once I hit that 70 page mark the book just took off…I can’t wait to get back to work so I can start reading again.

  3. Just as I read this posting Testimony sits next to my reading couch with page marker on 84. Was thinking, “do I really care what happens here? No.” It’s on the way to the Friends of the Library resale shop. It had its chance and I guess we just have to adjust to a disappointment when we usually really like an author’s work. Is there a message here we can take personally.

Leave a Reply

