Finished.

I accomplished something last weekend! Imagine that. The Project Life scrapbook that I kept so diligently at the beginning of last year had fallen a bit behind the times. My intention was to put my 5Photos from each week into a two page spread along with journaling and embellishments. I also hoped to keep up weekly just as I keep up daily during my December Daily scrapbook projects.

It didn’t quite work out as planned. Somewhere around June I stopped adding my photos each week and didn’t catch up until a few weeks ago while scrapping with a friend. Then this weekend I finished the rest. I LOVE this scrapbook. Just flipping through the pages makes me happy. To see the bumpy journey called 2010 in the span of 50 pages makes me realize how fast it all goes. It reminds me of Ecclesiastes 3.

A Time for Everything

There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven—

A time to give birth and a time to die;
A time to plant and a time to uproot what is planted.

A time to kill and a time to heal;
A time to tear down and a time to build up.

A time to weep and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn and a time to dance.

A time to throw stones and a time to gather stones;
A time to embrace and a time to shun embracing.

A time to search and a time to give up as lost;
A time to keep and a time to throw away.

A time to tear apart and a time to sew together;
A time to be silent and a time to speak.

A time to love and a time to hate;
A time for war and a time for peace.

2010 saw camping trips and spontaneous hikes. Homeschooling and public schooling and preschooling. Cousins. A pregnancy. A surgery and its long recovery. Lots of beach nights. Las Vegas and Cambria and Santa Barbara and Ojai. A fostering certification process and three foster kids. Lots of mourning and lots of dancing and lots of weeping and lots of laughing.

The great thing about scrapbooking is its ability to condense time into one little book of memories. I am definitely taking this approach again this year. I’m making my own kit with extra page protectors rather than buying the Becky Higgins kit for three reasons: First, I don’t need the outer album in the kit as I prefer plain black. Second, I like the 4×6 inserts for this year just fine, but I have tons of Basic Grey 6×6 paper packs that I haven’t used up and love. So I took a moment and cut a bunch of 4×6 and journaling sized inserts out of those. FREE! And lastly, I am SICK of rounding all the corners! Because the inserts in the kit have rounded corners, I rounded all of my photo corners last year. No longer. This year’s album will save me hours, just in corner rounding time!

I’m excited to get started. Time to go get printing!

Leave a Reply

