How Do You Find the Time?

Have you ever heard that question when you tell someone about something you like to do? The thing is, we all have the same 24 hours in our day, and it’s just a question of how we’ve chosen to use it. If you work outside of the home, either by choice or by circumstances, your work takes up much of your 24 hours. If you stay home with your kids, attending to them takes up that time.

But what about those moments here and there…the time after the kids go to bed or that half hour when a neighbor offers to have your kids over? That is the moment that I quilt, scrapbook, or edit photos. I’m not as into t.v. as Greg is, so although we have a few shows we watch together as we reconnect on the couch after a long day, I don’t spend much time that way.

This is how I’ve spent my last few weeks:

Actually, I didn’t do any work on that quilt in the last few weeks. Remember that I made the quilt top from my quilting bee blocks at Christmas time? My mom finished the quilting and binding and we gave the completed quilt to my grandmother at her 98th birthday party last week.

I did throw this “quilt” together at the last minute a few weeks ago, though. Using the squares leftover from the quilt above, plus a few other spare fabrics, I made this blankety quilt for our 22 year old babysitter who is like a daughter to us. She is now a college graduate! I put the word “quilt” in quotes because the middle layer is a fleece blanket instead of batting. I sewed around the edges with the whole quilt turned inside out, leaving an opening to turn it right side out. Then I sewed a few border lines to keep the whole thing together, and that’s it. So there’s no quilting in the middle of the quilt. But Sara loves it so I’m happy. Here’s the back:

I almost like the back better than the front. I did this quilt in the evenings and during naptimes for a few days before I gave it to her. Spare moments here and there can add up!

Another little project was this oversize tote bag, which I made at my quilt guild’s weekend sew a few weeks ago. I was in need of some instant gratification and found the fabric at JoAnn’s. This will be my beach bag this summer.

And last but not least, I finally finished Midge’s first birthday quilt.

I have to admit that I picked up the strawberry fabric and the checked fabric from the clearance section of my fabric shop, knowing that this quilt will go with Midge when she reunifies with her parents. Who knows whether they will think it’s valuable to her or not. I am not a heart person and I’m not big on applique, but after I made the squares, it just didn’t seem finished, so I added the hearts at the last minute. And actually, I think they are just perfect for our sweet baby. She also loves tags and ruffles and texture, so I put the ruffle at the top and bottom and hid my signature under one of them.

I love how the piecing turned out, but I am not happy with my quilting.I was telling a friend at our weekend sew that by the time I’m finished piecing a quilt top, I’m ready to move on to a new project, so I usually just zip through the quilting and don’t do a good job. I need to fix that and start spending time on the quilting itself. That is my goal with my next project, which is almost finished. I resolve to be a good quilter, not just a good piecer.

How have you been spending your stolen moments?

4 thoughts on “How Do You Find the Time?

  1. i love stealing moments to stitch. πŸ™‚
    and to read – a blog or a book.

    your stitching is lovely. πŸ™‚
    i really like your bag.
    and the quilt for the little miss looks to be just perfect for her.

    blessings to you today.

  2. Hey! I got that same exact bird fabric from Joann’s because I loved the colors and pattern so much. Haven’t figured out a use for it yet–your bag looks great!

  3. Your blog is so lovely. I am a sewing beginner and I would love to learn how to make a bag like the one you made pictured above. Do you have any advice for where I could find a book or pattern? The quilt you made for your foster daughter tugged at my heart. My sister was put up for adoption when she was born. She went to a foster home for six months before her adoptive parents received her. She doesn’t have any photos or memories from birth until she went to live with her parents. She has had a hard life and when the social worker told her that her foster parents loved and adored her, it meant so much to her. She wishes she could find them and thank them. I am so happy to have found your blog through Jessica Sprague’s. I will be adding it to my list of favorites.

Leave a Reply

