God’s Grace is Sufficient for Me.

Upstairs I have five sleeping babies…is it okay to call them all babies, even if one of them is seven years old? Our church VBS is this week and I invited our former foster boys’ big 5 year-old sister, whom I’ll call Honeybee, to come to it with us. And if Honeybee is invited, Athlete would just die of jealousy, so I invited him, too. By the way, I’m tired of the names Athlete and Billy Goat. I think Midge and Honeybee are much better, so I think I’m going to change the boys’ blog names sometime soon. Any suggestions?

Back to God’s grace…Sunday night: bedtime with all five was pretty tough. Mostly because we thought it would be “fun” to let all four big kids sleep on the floor of our bedroom to avoid Jake and Tyler whining about wanting to sleep with Athlete and Honeybee. Perhaps all of these years of parenting have skewed our minds and we don’t quite understand the meaning of the word “fun” anymore. Suffice it to say, there was a whole lot of wiggling and swishing of covers and pillows here and there just as one was about to fall asleep, and then stern looks and reprimands from Greg and I to whichever boy was keeping one of the foster kiddos awake by asking us a question. The night ended with Greg and I trading off saying “I’ve had it!” to each other, and Tyler and Jake sleeping on the floor in the theater because they were booted from the bedroom but their mattresses were still there so they couldn’t sleep in their beds.

Monday morning: Getting everyone up and breakfasted was surprisingly smooth. Greg left for work at 7:30, and at 7:45 while I was dressing her, Honeybee threw up all over a load of clean laundry. (Thank the Lord it was on the laundry instead of the rug!) In the next fifteen minutes, I needed to clean up the mess, get myself and most of the kids finished dressing, call the kids’ foster mom to meet us to take Honeybee home, pack her things, and get everyone into the car so we could get to VBS. God’s grace = I did it. His power is made perfect in our weakness!

Tuesday and Wednesday: I had been prepared for five kids and now I only had four. It was smooth and enjoyable. Yes, I never thought I would see the day when I called several days with Athlete in our family, enjoyable. Their new foster mom has been a part of a miracle of healing in that boy’s life. He is transformed. A year of consistent discipline, love, and stability has changed his life. Wow. God, you are good.

Wednesday afternoon: We met up with the little kids’ foster mom to give Athlete back to her because they had a visitation with their mom. We discussed how sad it is that they seem to be losing their connection with her. It is partially her own fault, but also the fault of the situation. So sad to see baby Billy Goat screaming “Mommy! Mommy!” and reaching his arms for me, sobbing, as they left to go to a visit with his real mom. What confusion these kids must rebound from someday. I am thankful to know that God’s grace will be sufficient for them, too.

Wednesday evening: When we thought we’d have Honeybee and Athlete Mon-Wed, we decided they’d spend Wed night after their visit at home with their foster mom and come to meet us at VBS in the morning. But their mom didn’t show up for her visit. And Honeybee was dying to get over here. And I was on my own tonight, as Greg helps at youth group on Wednesdays. And I was not looking forward to the prospect of a repeat of Monday night’s bedtime fiasco, without my other half to help me out. But I couldn’t disappoint Honeybee, especially after the disappointment she had earlier, so I agreed. Please Lord, help me!

God’s grace: our babysitter/daughter extraordinaire came by for a minute this afternoon and we decided to re-bunk the boys’ beds. We did it! No man power needed. And that means that the boys are actually excited to sleep in their own rooms with their normal bedtime routine, leaving me to deal only with Honeybee and Athlete. And what do you know, when they arrived, Athlete was dead asleep in his carseat. I carried him up and put him in bed and that was that. Praise God! All I had to do tonight was sing Honeybee to almost-sleep and I am done.

Would it be Too Much Information to say that I think God had it planned when Midge pooped three times in the VBS childcare today and twice earlier this week, and I haven’t had to deal with that once in the past few days here? Do I honestly think that God would coordinate my little one’s bowel movements to make my life easier as a gracious reward for sacrificing for some of his beloved little ones this week? Yes, I honestly do.

God’s grace is sufficient for me. His power is made perfect in weakness. 2 Corinthians 12:9

2 thoughts on “God’s Grace is Sufficient for Me.

  1. That is such an incredible testimony of God’s grace showing up when you need it most … and you haven’t even expected it. It really is surprising sometimes, isn’t it? His grace. I can only imagine how incredibly loved you must have felt when those delicious moments arrived. Your life bears witness to the way He works it all (ALL! yes, even potty moments!) together for good.

  2. I love the way you are showing sacrificial love to the foster babies.
    Isaiah 58:10-11 you have spent yourself on behalf of the children and God will satisfy all of your needs.
    Keep going!

Leave a Reply

