Choosing Thankfulness…Receiving Joy.

When I first started blogging, I tended to be a negative person. I was a big picture optimist, but a day to day pessimist. I guess I was a negative person my whole life, since my mom tells me that I would come home from birthday parties with a list of complaints. She made me tell her three good things before I could tell her one bad thing. It must have sort-of helped.

The first months of blogging, I found myself mentally creating blog posts of inspiration, joy, beauty as I went about my day. As I looked for the good in my world, I felt the negativity lift. Choosing thankfulness for the little things ended in me receiving a bit more joy. It brought about transformation, however small, in my life.

I still haven’t shared my thoughts on Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts, although I’ve been reading, re-reading and digesting it for a few months now. I have not gotten into the habit of counting my blessings and writing them down. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t. But I do need to count them in my mind.

Ann has a beautiful post on her blog today about how taking a step toward thankfulness, happiness, beauty, can bring you the joy that you’re seeking.

You really must read it, here. If you don’t, you might always wonder why I plan to buy a second-hand horn and hang it in my house.

2 thoughts on “Choosing Thankfulness…Receiving Joy.

  1. 1000 Gifts is the only book other than the Bible that I have read multiple times and underlined and written in the margin. Ann was here to speak last fall and I was able to go hear her. I think one reason her book is so popular and life changing for people is because she is very authentic and relatable.

  2. I loved the honk if you are happy story, it reminded me of how I have always sung the song, “if you’re happy and you know it” song to Caroline, and I sing, “if you are happy and you know it honk your nose, honk! honk!” hee hee.

Leave a Reply

