7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess :: in the trenches of food month

IMG_3661

After my pre-7 Costco run: produce for juicing and pleny of my 7 foods for the month!

I’m halfway through my first month of seven and it’s starting to get old. The first week was way easier than I thought it would be. I think that’s just because we’re still getting into the swing of things around here after Christmas break and we’ve been so busy. This second week hasn’t been that bad, but I’m beginning to tire of my foods. If only I didn’t feed the rest of my family so well, I wouldn’t have to see the yummy things everyone else is eating without me!

My problem is that I really do like food. I like planning a new menu for each week. I love variety and there are hardly any foods I don’t enjoy, so I regularly change our family dishes to keep things interesting. I like so many different vegetables and sauces and savories and sweets! Oh, sweets! I love you. And butter and cheese, I was so close to putting at least one of you on my list of seven foods.

That’s it: only seven foods for a month. Choose wisely, I advise you, if you ever take on this foolish task. I’ve been completely happy with my choices of rice, beans, chicken, eggs, spinach, tomatoes, and apples. Considering nutrients and possible food combinations, my list has been ideal. We can use olive oil, lemon, salt and pepper for seasoning, but still, there are no sweets! No coffee treats or cheese to jazz up my beans or my salads. Sun dried tomatoes and apples in every form have been my saviors. But even still, after two weeks I’m kind of over it. In addition to water, I am drinking juices made at home so that I can try out the juicer I’m borrowing from my dad.  And even with the incredible motivation of juicing being the only mode for me to eat non-7 foods, I’ve only had juice three times, so that tells me whether buying my own juicer is worth it! Guess not.

It would be easier for me if I really felt my spiritual life being shaken up by this 7 food fast. I’ve fasted from sweets before while praying for direction on certain life decisions, and while skipping sweets is a serious sacrifice for me, it’s easier when I have a defined purpose in mind. This 7 fast is a little vague and open-ended for me. “Taking away excess to make room for the Holy Spirit to work” isn’t quite as specific as I’d like. How will I see the Spirit move? What changes will I feel happening? Will I truly feel more compassion for the world’s poor, who live on much less food than this every day? I am happy that I lost five pounds in the first week (I also started my triathalon training that same week, so there’s that) but losing weight isn’t my goal here so it’s not helping me feel motivated. I haven’t given up on the spiritual shake-up yet, but I’m still waiting.

I’m committed to this for the long haul, so I keep plugging along. Me and my apples, my freeze dried apples, and my applesauce, all of which I had in the same afternoon at Disneyland with the kids. I will admit that after that Applepolooza, as my friend Toby called it, I was a little appled out.

Two weeks down, two to go. I’m hoping to reflect here in the middle of each fast and at the end, just to see the progress I’m making over the seven months. Right now, I’ve got a chicken carcass on the stove creating homemade chicken broth, to which I’ll add (what else?!) rice, beans, diced tomatoes, spinach, lemon, salt and pepper. Yum and yawn, all at the same time.

Holy Spirit? Where are you at?

Leave a Reply

