7 : An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess :: Finishing up Food, Starting Clothes

It’s been over a week since food month ended, but it’s still affecting me physically. The first four days after food month ended, I spent much of the day with a stomach ache…like the food I was eating was just sitting there like a rock. The digestive issues I’ve struggled with off and on for more than a year but were completely gone during food month…they returned. And for the last week, my energy has been so much lower than it was during food month.

On day five after the fast ended, I found myself eating beans with an egg for breakfast, Seven style. I couldn’t believe it.

I’m trying to figure out my new relationship with food. I know sugar is bad. Very bad. Poison, some would say. I know that cheese as a big portion of a meal (paninis, grilled cheese, many mexican foods) is not agreeing with me. But how am I going to move forward from here? I still don’t know. But I do know that I am oh-so-happy to add an avocado and enchilada sauce to my egg and beans or tomatoes breakfast. I’m going to keep messing with my diet until I feel good again but don’t feel deprived.

And Clothes Month.

Seven items of clothing: two pairs of pants, one long sleeved shirt, one tank top, one hoodie sweatshirt, one jacket, one pair of boots.

And this morning when I got dressed and looked in the mirror, I realized that my first outfit doesn’t look cute. And pair number one of pants are inching uncomfortably down, thanks to the Seven-induced weight loss. Which is generally a good thing, but not so much when you have only two pairs of pants to wear all month. Hmmm. I’m not sure that I chose wisely.

But whatever. Because I don’t have to wonder what I’m going to wear when I wake up in the morning. Who cares? I anticipate a much quicker morning routine. And hopefully a much better focus on what Christ thinks of me rather than what other people think of me. This month’s going to be a breeze compared to food month.

photo

pardon the lack of makeup. and the awkward little boot lift…my five year old photographer told me that my feet weren’t in the picture. obviously he was mistaken!

One thought on “7 : An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess :: Finishing up Food, Starting Clothes

Leave a Reply

