Family Updates Are Few & Far Between.

It’s difficult to write here when things are sliding backwards. I don’t want to over-share my kids’ struggles, yet I don’t want to act like everything’s rosy when it’s not. So instead, I have just keep my mouth shut (or in this case, my fingers still!)

I will say that God has worked amazingly in my heart in the past five weeks. I woke up on February 1st, the nine month anniversary of our kids joining our family, and decided I’d had enough of my pity party and my selfish behavior. I didn’t like my life and there was no sign of it getting better if I didn’t change myself. And for whatever reason, the Holy Spirit began working that day. I know when we pray that God always answers: yes, no, or wait. I’ve been in the ‘wait’ category for several months, harboring bad feelings towards my situation, my kids, and even towards God, all while praying for improvement.

I have turned a corner. At ten months in, I may not be the most fabulous mother to my children, but I’m a lot better than I was five weeks ago. There’s a lot more compassion, and a stronger will to fight for these kids and our relationships. I’m hanging onto my bible time and my 1000 gifts devotional and thankfulness list, along with a devotional a good friend gave me for people in difficult life circumstances. All of that to keep me clinging to Jesus, along with daily doses (sometimes twice daily!) of a few ‘parenting kids from hard places’ books that remind me of how I’m supposed to change my thinking and my parenting techniques for these kids.

Meanwhile, Jake has been improving in his behavior. This fostering business has always been hardest on him, and he exhibits behavior that is straight out of our  trauma training sessions! I guess when you like routine and predictability and are a sensitive kid, being a foster brother from age 6-10 is traumatic! Tyler has always been the easiest with all of this. But this past week he’s had a rough time. Greg and I realize he needs a little more one on one time and are hoping to do that soon. Our five year old A. has been getting better at school and home. If only I could stop showing my frustration with him, he might be able to stop his defiance! (My frustrated voice is definitely one of his biggest triggers.)

As for our six-year old E., things have come to, as our social worker calls it, “a point of crisis.” Her current school situation is not working for her at all. In foster parenting-speak, her chronological age is 6.5. Her social age is about 11. Her academic age is about 5. And her emotional age is about 3. You can see how difficult this would make things in a first grade classroom at a school full of people (adults and children) expecting her to meet the academic standards and negotiate the social/emotional situations of a 6-7 year old. We’re working with the school staff but aren’t optimistic about them being able to meet her needs right now.

Thankfully, God showed up at just the right time to make me more empathetic to her feelings and open to different options for meeting her needs. Not everyone understands her special needs, but as long as Greg and I do, we have the responsibility to do whatever is in her best interest while also considering the family as a whole. We’ve been praying for about a month about what to do and have been talking with the professionals who will have to approve the decision since she’s still officially in foster care and we can’t make parenting decisions yet!  In just the past week, I’m feeling a bit more sure of where we’re headed. Next week I will have a little more information and hopefully we can feel confident with whatever we decide.

Every time I think about our family, I think of the tag-line at the beginning of the old Jon and Kate Plus Eight reality t.v. show: It might be a crazy life, but it’s OUR life. Yep. That’s us.

One thought on “Family Updates Are Few & Far Between.

Leave a Reply

