“You’re going to lose the ship, but all of the people aboard will survive.”

Title taken from the end of Acts…maybe Acts 23 or so? When Paul is going through still more hardships, including years of wrongful imprisonment and an impending shipwreck during stormy seas. Literally.

Our stormy seas are figurative. We are dealing with serious regression around here, with our foster kiddos returning to daily behaviors including defiance, tantrums, violence, disrespect and disobedience like we haven’t seen since their first months here. I spend most of my time splitting up fights, separating children, making sure those children stay separated, then going back and checking on the children who aren’t having a consequence at that moment, then going back to the first children and talking with them about their choices and reinstating their privileges, and then starting it all over again, with some kicks, screaming, and throwing of someone else’s valuables thrown in here and there. All the while attempting to keep my own temper and not let my buttons be pushed.

This morning as I was walking by our beautiful reservoir, God brought the above passage to mind. He reassured Paul with an angel, which seems a little more definitive to me. God, if you read my blog, I would really like an angel to come to me in my dreams and tell me the same thing. But as the angels have remained silent thusfar, I’ll just trust that the Holy Spirit brought this to my mind for a reason.

Our family will survive. The ship will not. What that ship is, I’m not sure. My best guess is that the “ship” is my own plan for how our kids’ childhoods should look. I’m thinking that God is shattering my own utopian ideals for my five kids’ childhood experiences. I’m supposed to trust that His plan for their early years is better than mine. That somehow His infinite knowledge of past, present, and future is more comprehensive than mine and He will give my kids the life experiences they need in order to fill the roles He has for them later in life.

He has been faithful. He is faithful. And according to the Bible, He will be faithful to complete the good work He began in us.

Of course, we just talked about the staggering extent of Paul’s faith in difficult circumstances at our Women’s Bible Study yesterday. Sometimes God is just a little bit too ironic for my liking.

 

Leave a Reply

