7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess :: Reflections on waste month

So I was supposed to adopt seven “green” habits this month. I completely failed. I rationalize that I am already much “greener” than most people I know. We recycle. We use cloth napkins every day in place of paper towels and paper napkins. I buy second-hand clothes for myself and my kids. I experimented with eliminating shampoo for six months (although I admit I am back “on” shampoo again…mostly because it’s easier.) I bring my own bags to the grocery store and the farmer’s market. I teach my kids about taking care of the environment. We avoid chemicals in our food and spend our money to support the ethical treatment of the chickens and cows we eat. We’ve done the raw milk thing, and probably will again after our kids are adopted. (Not giving kids raw milk or home canned foods was specifically listed in our fostering paperwork!) We are already green, darn it!

These are all excuses. The truth is, I took the month off. There are plenty of ways to do more to care for our earth. But when it comes down to it, the extent of my waste month is that if I’m motivated this weekend, I just might switch my two trash cans, making the larger one for recycling and the smaller one for trash. And I’ll call it a day. Or a month. Of failure.

Sorry, Earth.

One thought on “7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess :: Reflections on waste month

Leave a Reply

